Around The World in 52 Weeks: Black-eyed Pea Fritters

This week my kitchen took my to the Republic of Congo. Unfortunately it seems the Republic of Congo and my kitchen really didn’t mesh very well.

 

I planned this week to make a peanut chicken and these fritters. However, during the middle of my cooking process for the chicken I dropped it on the floor, peanut side down. I just really wasn’t in the mood to defrost more chicken and start over, so I decided to just make these fritters. These fritters were far from the easiest things I’ve made.

I first attempted to make them in a deep skillet filled with oil. However, the batter was so sticky I couldn’t get them to flip over. I decided instead to use the deep fryer. I took my black-eyed pea batter, made a sticky ball out of it, dredged it in flour, and deep fried them for 5 minutes.

It worked, but it was a struggle.

Black-eyed Pea Fritters

Ingredients
8 1/2 oz frozen black-eyed peas, thawed
1 egg, beaten
1/2 onion
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/2 habenero
1/2 green bell pepper
cayenne pepper, to taste
1/4 tsp fresh ginger, peeled
oil for frying
flour for dredging

Directions

 1. Combine the black-eyed peas, egg, onion, salt, habenero, green bell pepper, cayenne, and ginger in a food processor. Pulse until a paste is created.

2. The batter is sticky, but create balls out of the batter with your hands. Dredge each ball in flour.

3. Fry the fritters in a deep fryer for 5 minutes. Drain on paper towels.

* I’ve shared these fritters with KB and Whitesnake‘s Simply Delish Saturday.

I’d like to see people travel the globe with me.
Every Saturday I will be posting my recipe, as well as pictures to ethnic cuisines you have made and want to share.

- You must mention The Law Student’s Cookbook‘s Around The World In 52 Weeks in the entry you link. You can either use a link or use the banner.
- In your post you must  at least mention what cuisine the dish is.
- Email me your recipe at elizabeth@crabtech.net. Make sure to include:

* Your name or blog name
* The direct link to your post
* A picture of the dish or permission to pull a picture from the post

- Make sure to email me by Saturday at 12noon Pacific Standard Time

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Black-Eyed Peas and Eggplant Curry | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

