Food n’ Flix: Eat Pray Love ROUNDUP

Liz Gilbert, an American feeling lost in her everyday life, takes a trip around the world that changes her life. While it appears that many of you didn’t like the movie (despite the fact I love the movie, I know there’s a ton of people who feel otherwise,) we had an abundance of food this month. What a great way to start Food ‘n Flix for the year! There was an abundance of food from Italy, which doesn’t surprise me at all given that the majority of delicious food in the movie came to us in the Italy scenes.

Jeanne of Simple Math Bakery relived her own trip to Italy in this icy treat. Jeanne created this Stracciatella Gelato, and writing “But her love for gelato is more pronounced in the book, where she muses that gelato is so popular that it’s even acceptable to eat it before lunch. Now THAT is a country where I’d fit right in! When I visited Italy, I fell in love with the word stracciatella, and the gelato flavor of the same name.” Jeanne, let me tell you, I would love some stracciatella gelato for lunch today!

Heather of girlichef shared with us her Pizza with Slow-Roasted Tomato, Roasted Garlic, Sausage with Fennel, and Basil. Though Heather wasn’t a fan of the movie, she was a fan of the pizza in Naples: “And pizza in Naples?  Yes, please!” I would like a slice of your pizza, Heather! Please!

Deb of Kahakai Kitchen had initially wanted to make something from Bali or India. However, she found herself craving pasta. I can’t say I blame her. To fulfill this craving Deb made Super Quick Tomato Basil Cream Bucatini, a pasta with a creamy sauce that doesn’t actually use any dairy. She describes the sauce as, “decadent, creamy and has lots of great flavor.” Now you got me craving pasta!

Kristina of spabettie was not the only one to be inspired by the pizza in Italy. She shares with a Blackened Cauliflower and Kalamata Pizza. Though Kristina was disappointed that the movie did not live up to the book, she indicated that “I feel there are times you should be self indulgent, and have no guilt about it.” Unfortunately the movie glossed over the reasons for why Elizabeth was being indulgent. I do feel Kristina picked something up from the story though, making this indulgent pizza!

Leslie of La Cocina de Leslie shares with us Spaghetti al Pomodoro, spaghetti with a tomato sauce. Leslie explains that “before I even sat down to watch the movie, I headed into the kitchen to prepare a simple, yet absolutely satisfying Spaghetti al Pomodoro.” I can’t say I blame you, Leslie! This simple dish looks divine.

Glennis of Can’t Believe We Ate was inspired to make a comforting bowl of Pasta e Fagioli, or pasta with beans. Glennis describes this soup as being “like a warm hug for me.  It was cold…rainy…dark…yet this soup warmed us up and made us comfortable.” She shared the meal with her husband, her best friend of 30 years, and hoped that Elizabeth could find that same type of companionship. If there’s any leftovers, I would like a bowl.

Here at The Law Student’s Cookbook, I followed a different vein of inspiration. This Beef Rendang and Coconut Butternut Squash was my guess at what Elizabeth may have eaten in Bali. Through my research I found that rendang is a “ceremonial dish used to honor  guests that originated in Indonesia. Perhaps when Elizabeth visited Ketut he had an honorary dinner for her.” Who knows what she actually ate, but I hope it was this! Because it was good!

Thank you to everyone who participated this month! I think we started the year strong with all the submissions for this month’s flick. I would also like to thank Heather of girlichef for keeping Food ‘n Flix running.

The upcoming flick for February is My Big Fat Greek Wedding, which will be hosted at Kahakai Kitchen. I can’t wait to see all the Greek food next month!

6 responses

  1. What a great roundup! Thank YOU for kicking off another year with a bang :). That’s the beauty of foodie films…even if they don’t wind up being your favorite, you can still cook up some good food inspired by them. YUM!

  2. So many wonderful dishes that the movie inspired makes it a great pick even if we all didn’t love it. ;-) Thanks for hosting this round. I’ll be getting an announcement post up for February–I’m like you–can’t wait to see all the Greek dishes.

  3. hi Elizabeth!

    I saw this when you first posted, but just caught up to your email (heh, I’ve been WAY busy), and realized I hadn’t left a comment.

    I loved your film pick, a perfect reason to make my pizza… thank you for hosting!

Leave a Reply

