Dutch Babies

For Christmas this last year my mom (or Santa?) gave me a set of red ramekins. I have a thing for red kitchen items, so this was the perfect present. However, 5 months have passed and my cute red ramekins were still sitting in their packaging untouched.  I decided this morning was the morning to put these guys to work.

I found this recipe for Dutch Babies and decided it would make the perfect breakfast this morning. I was no misled in the slightest. I literally burst out giggling when I pulled them out of the oven because they looked so comical, puffed up so high.

Dutch Babies
(source)

Ingredients
1 cup flour
1 cup milk
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
4 tsp vegetable oil

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 475.

2. To make the batter, in a food processor combine the flour, milk, eggs, vanilla, sugar, and salt. Pulse until well combined.

3. In each ramekin spread 1 tsp of the vegetable oil with a pastry brush.

4. Divide the batter before the 4 ramekins. Place on a baking sheet.

5. Bake the dutch babies for about 15 minutes, or until they are golden brown and puff up.

6. You can top with lemon juice and powdered sugar.

* makes 4
* 243 calories per dutch baby
* shared with See Ya in the Gumbo

3 responses

  1. Thank you for linking up this week. I smiled at the image of you laughing after pulling these from the oven. I can see how they would produce a laugh. Fun food!

Leave a Reply

