Sesame-Crusted Fried Chicken

IMG_8573

 

I love Asian-inspired food. While I love going out and having Chinese, Japanese, Thai, etc. etc., I also really like making dishes that are vaguely Asian, but obviously not traditionally using the ingredients. This particular dinner made perfect use of my cast iron skillet which I received for my birthday back in December. I almost forgot I had it and I almost cooked the chicken in the stainless steal skillets I use, but I am so happy I remembered I owned cast iron. Seriously, I doubt my chicken could have gotten so crispy and brown while not sticking if I had made it in anything else.

What are your favorite ways to use your cast iron?
What recipes do you rely on your cast iron when making?

Sesame-Crusted Fried Chicken
(source)

Ingredients
1 egg white
1 tbsp sesame seeds
3/4 cup bread crumbs
1 lb chicken breasts, cut into strips
salt and pepper, to taste
3 tbsp sesame oil, divided
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced
pinch of red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp ground ginger

Directions

1. Put the egg white in a shallow dish. In another shallow dish combine the sesame seeds with the bread crumbs.

2. Pat your chicken dry. Season with salt and pepper. Dip in the egg yolk and then dredge in the bread crumbs.

3. Heat 2 tbsp of sesame oil in a cast iron skillet. Once hot add the chicken and cook for 4 minutes per side.

4. Once the chicken is cooked, remove from the skillet and keep warm. Whisk together 1 tbsp sesame oil, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, red pepper flakes, and ground ginger in a small bowl. Pour the sauce over the chicken pieces.

* serves 4
* shared with See Ya In The Gumbo

2 responses

  1. You blended my two favorite ways to have chicken! Looks delicious and something I will really try sometime soon! My favorite thing to use my iron skillet is when I make corn bread – there’s nothing like it for crispiness!

  2. Guess what? I bought a jar of sesame seeds for a recipe and found out I already had some in the spice cabinet. I’ve been looking for ways to use them since I now have two opened jars and don’t want them to go bad. Really like the look of this dish.
    Thanks for linking.

Leave a Reply

