Pumpkin Pancakes

I’ve been telling my mom how easy pancakes are to make. I’m not a fan of the premade pancake mix, where you add oil, stir a little, and fry the cakes. Rather, I like making my pancakes with flour, buttermilk, and whatever other flavors the specific pancake requires.

In the spirit of fall I made pumpkin pancakes for my family during my visit home this weekend. My dad went to the farmers’ market that morning and came home with a delicious apple butter. The combination of the apple and the butter was divine.

Everyone in my family was so stoked over the pumpkin pancakes that we have decided that on Christmas morning I’ll be making pancakes. They will be a combination of Eggnog Pancakes and Gingerbread Pancakes. I’m sure you’ll hear all about those when they happen, as well as any pancakes in the interim.

Pumpkin Pancakes

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour
1/3 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp ginger
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 cup pureed pumpkin
3/4 cup milk
1/4 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 egg – however you want to make that work, I separated half of an egg with my hands

Directions

1. In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients. In the center create a well.

2. Mix the milk and vinegar together and let sit for about 5 minutes.

3. In the well of the dry ingredients pour in the pumpkin, soured milk, and egg. Stir the batter well to combine and to make sure there are not any dry portions of the mixture.

4. In a greased griddle spoon 1/4 cup portions of pancake. When the pancakes start bubbling on the surface, flip and cook until golden brown on both sides.

* makes about 12 pancakes

Leave a Reply

