Beef Tetrazzini

I make a weekly meal plan that I try to stick to. Sometimes I don’t make something off of the plan because I go out to eat instead. Or other times I’ll have leftovers that I feel guilty not eating. There are some rare times however, where I do end up cooking but changing the recipe around. I’m usually such a follower of recipes. I think most of it is I just am not quite 100% confident in the kitchen. I’d rather cook something that I know at least one person tasted good, than totally whip something up from scratch on my own that could possibly taste horrible.

This recipe was for a chicken tetrazzini. I had planned to make chicken tetrazzini. However, the night before I made those Swedish meatballs I posted yesterday and I was left with a lot of leftover, thawed out ground beef and ground pork. Rather than getting more meat out of the freezer to thaw, I decided to use what was in the refrigerator. I opted for the beef in this dish instead of the pork (though tomorrow you will see what I ended up doing with the extra pork). Because of the change in meats, I did make a few minor changes in the recipe. But I did follow the recipe almost exactly besides changing the protein.

It was really creamy, really yummy, and I would make this dish (using the beef) again.
But really, you could probably use any protein ever and it would be delicious.

This dish is being submitted to Presto Pasta Nights, hosted this week by Lavender and Lime.

Beef Tetrazzini

Ingredients
1 lb spaghetti, broken into thirds
1 tbsp olive oil
24 oz mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup Brummel&Brown
1/2 cup flour
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp ground black pepper
2 cups beef broth
2 cups half and half
1/4 cup white wine
12 oz ground beef, cooked
1 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350. Boil water in a pot over high heat and cook the noodles according to the directions on the package.

2. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Saute the mushrooms until they release their liquid.

3. Melt the Brummel&Brown  in a small skillet. Stir in the flour, salt, and pepper and cook for a minute until smooth and bubbly. Stir in beef broth and half and half until just boiling. Let boil for 1 minute, stirring.

4. In a casserole dish combine the white wine, spaghetti, ground beef, and mushrooms with the butter mixture.

5. Sprinkle with cheese and bake uncovered for 30 minutes.

* serves 8
* 626 calories per serving

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Presto Pasta Nights | Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

