Chicken Biryani

If I could eat a particular cuisine of food forever, I would pick Indian in a heartbeat. Almost every time I see an Indian recipe I save it and try to make it later. I went to India several years ago and I can’t do the food justice. But I keep trying and trying.

But I know I’m never going to get it right because the ingredients here are just lacking. The flavors aren’t the same. I can’t get the same level of spiciness or the same flavor of spiciness.

Even the Indian restaurants around here just don’t have it right. There is one place I’ve been to in Sacramento that was better than most, but it’s still just not the same. I guess eating with utensils makes it not the same too, because eating the curries using only curry and your fingers is quite an experience itself. I don’t know how that’d go over though if I tried to eat like that in public.

Chicken Biryani

Ingredients
2 tsp canola oil
1 lb chicken breast
1 medium onion, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
1 tsp ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp garam masala
3/4 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tomatoes, chopped
1 cup uncooked Basmati rice
1/3 cup raisins
14 oz chicken broth

Directions

1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan; saute 3 minutes. Add onion and jalapeno; saute 3 minutes.

2. Add ginger, garam masala, cumin, salt, and garlic; saute 30 seconds. Add tomato, rice, raisins, and broth, bringing to a boil.

3. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes, until rice is tender.

* serves 4
* 435 calories per serving

 

Leave a Reply

