Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole and Spicy Brussels Sprouts

Though it was just the small side of this meal, this post is about how much I typically I hate Brussels Sprouts. When I was growing up my mom had a policy that basically, I couldn’t say I didn’t like something until I’d tried it. This resulted in me taking a lot of tiny bites of food thinking I was going to hate it, and then gagging like I had eaten the most disgusting thing in the world.

As I grew up and began to cook for myself, this pickiness decreased actually much thanks to my mom. I still kept the notion that I couldn’t say I didn’t like something if I had never tried it. For me this also turned into trying foods that I was certain I despised (like spinach) and trying them in a way prepared differently than I’ve had before.

Brussels sprouts and I have been having a go with it. Every time I make them, I still hate them. But I knew there had to be a way I would enjoy the sprouts. There just had to be.

Now, I will say Brussels sprouts are by far not my favorite food in the world, but I have found one way that covers up the taste of them enough to make me enjoy the dish.

Spicy Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients
1 lb Brussels sprouts
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
2 green onions, chopped
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tbsp lemon juice
salt and black pepper, to taste

Directions

 1. Place the Brussels sprouts in a pot and fill with water. Boil for 30 minutes or until the sprouts are to your desired crispness.  Remove and drain.

2. Season with garlic, cayenne, and red pepper flakes. Add the green onions, mustard, lemon juice, and salt and pepper. Toss until evenly coated.

* 62 calories per serving
* serves 4

Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken

Ingredients
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, about 1 lb
1 cup sour cream
1 can cream of mushroom soup
25 reduced-fat Ritz crackers
1/2 cup Brummel&Brown yogurt spread, melted (or other butter substitute)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350.

2. Boil the chicken in a pot of water until it is cooked all the way through. Let cool and then cut into cubes.

3. Spread the chicken cubes over the bottom of a baking dish.

4. Mix sour cream and cream of mushroom soup in a bowl. Spread the mixture over the chicken.

5. Crush the Ritz and cover the dish with the crushed crackers.

6. Pour the melted Brummel&Brown over the dish.

7. Bake for 30 minutes, until brown on the top.

* 483 calories per serving
* serves 4

Leave a Reply

