Chickpea and Turkey Curry over Curried Mashed Sweet Potatoes

I feel like I need to sing and dance for sweet potatoes. They just never can do me no wrong.

For some reason I was always terrified of sweet potatoes growing up. I think it was because I could only think of that sickeningly sweet casserole with marshmallows and stuff on it. I know a lot of people love that stuff, but the thought of it to me is repulsive. That of course made sweet potatoes in any form repulsive, because that’s how my mind used to work.

But then I tried them in a different form and my life was changed.

This recipe is a chickpeas and ground turkey. I served it over curried sweet potatoes, a recipe I have made before and will make over and over again.

The first night it tasted delicious, but I think it tasted even better as leftovers the next day.

Chickpea and Turkey Curry

Ingredients
1/2 tbsp sesame oil
1 lb ground turkey
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 can chickpeas, drained
1/2 can petite diced tomatoes
1 tbsp curry powder
2 tbsp garlic chili sauce
1/4 cup coconut milk
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 tsp dry red pepper flakes

Directions

1. Heat the sesame oil in a skillet over medium heat. Cook the turkey with the garlic and onion in the oil until the turkey is no longer pink.

2. Stir in the garbanzo beans, tomato, curry powder, chili sauce, and coconut milk. Bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

* serves 3
* 367 calories per serving

 

One response

  1. I discovered using sweet potatoes in salads and casseroles recently and love how versatile, they can be. This is a good take on the humble sweet potato. I have to bookmark it before I leave here.

Leave a Reply

