Kidney Bean Curry

I bought this cookbook forever ago at Borders, when the store was still in existence, but for some reason the book got pushed somewhere and I never made anything out of it. I bought this book years ago, so I can’t believe it’s only now that I am getting around to making anything out of it. 

Indian food is hands down my favorite cuisine there is. I love trying new recipes, I love curries, I just love all the flavors that fill up every mouthful when I eat this delicious food. This is why I can’t believe I haven’t cooked out of this book. I am equally surprised I haven’t made anything out of this cookbook after trying the kidney bean curry. I usually make chicken curries of different variations. I have never made a bean curry (well, I have made chickpea curry).

I served this curry over rice. It would have been nice to have some naan as well.

Kidney Bean Curry

Ingredients
1 cup canned kidney beans, drained
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 jalapeno, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 in piece fresh ginger root, grated
2 tbsp curry paste
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 can petite diced tomatoes
2 tbsp chopped cilantro

Directions

1. Heat the oil in a large frying pan and fry the cumin seeds for 2 minutes, until they begin to sputter. Add the onion, jalapeno, garlic, and ginger and fry for 5 minutes. Stir in the curry paste, cumin, coriander, chili powder, and salt and cook for 5 minutes.

2. Add the tomatoes and simmer for 5 minutes. Drain the beans and stir them in with the cilantro. Cover and cook for 15 minutes, adding water if necessary.

* serves 4
* 208 calories per serving
* This recipe comes from the Best Ever Indian Cookbook by Mridula Baljeka, Rafi Fernandez, Shehzad Husain, and Manisha Kanani.
* I am sharing this recipe with Cookbook Sundays at Couscous & Consciousness.

 

2 responses

  1. I can’t believe you’ve never cooked anything out of that book before either, though who am I to talk?! But I’m sure after making this dish that book will be coming down off the shelf a lot more often. I love Indian flavours too, and I will definitely give this dish a try – it looks great for a quick and easy mid-week meal.

    Thank you so much for sharing it with Cookbook Sundays – I do hope you’ll join in again.

    Sue 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kidney Bean Cauliflower Curry | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

