Blueberry Waffles

Part of my weekend breakfasts this week included waffles. For as much as I like to cook, I’m going to admit I have never made a waffle before these blueberry waffles. Matt gave me this old waffle maker last year that he found when moving. It has sat in my kitchen supply cabinet since then. It actually even survived a move from my apartment to this house.  But I’ve still left it sitting in the kitchen supply cabinet, along with the equipment I actually use on a normal basis (my rice cooker, slow cooker, blender, etc.)

I had a bunch of leftover blueberries this week, so I was trying to use them all so I wouldn’t have to throw them away. Unfortunately I think I used way too many blueberries in this recipe and probably should have cut it in half. I used 1 cup of berries, which was clearly too many and caused some burning on part of the blueberries in the waffle maker. Whoops! This was definitely a learning experience, that’s for sure.

There were two things I learned from this experience:
Lesson One: Don’t put too many berries in your waffle mix.
Lesson Two: Make lots of waffles!

Blueberry Waffles

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 tbsp sugar
1/3 cup blueberry yogurt
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp milk
2 tbsp water
2 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Directions

1.  Preheat your waffle maker.

2. Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl mix the wet ingredients. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients, mixing with a wooden spoon. Make sure to stir enough to get rid of any dry clumps.

3. Fold the blueberries into the waffle batter.

4. Spray your waffle maker with cooking spray. Pour 1/2 cup of waffle batter into your waffle maker. Cook for 5-7 minutes, or as long as your waffle maker takes to cook a waffle.

* makes 4 waffles
* 229 calories per waffle
* This waffle recipe is being shared with What Makes You Say Mmmmm? Monday Linky.

2 responses

  1. YUM! I love waffles!!! I’m also loving your around the world in 52 weeks posts and have been bookmarking a lot of recipes to make myself. In fact, you’re inspiring me to do a similar type of posting.

    • If you do, definitely let me know!! I’m glad you’re inspired by it. It’s been a fun challenge so far. And if you do you should send me the links so I can share them (even though no one’s done it so far) 😦

      haha

Leave a Reply

