Around The World in 52 Weeks: Chicken Mechbous

This week my kitchen took me to Kuwait. Unfortunately I had to make the journey alone, because my boyfriend had a fever. I couldn’t neglect my challenge though, so I went without him. I did bring him some leftovers from my trip though. What that actually means is I made a soup for him that was made from the chicken, rice, onions, and tomato sauce from my dinner – with chicken broth, canned green beans, and frozen corn.

My journey to the Middle East was a delicious journey. I really love Indian food. While this wasn’t quite the same, there were some similarities in the flavors of the dish. The recipe I followed used a whole chicken. Since I’m only cooking for two, cooking a whole chicken just creates way too much food. I used chicken breasts instead.

Now that I’m back into school mode I have to write a 25 page paper.

Chicken Mechbous

Ingredients
2 tbsp raisins
4 trimmed boneless skinless chicken breast halves
2 whole cloves
2 cardamom pods
3 black peppercorns
3 cups uncooked Basmati rice
1 1/2 onions, sliced
1 tomato, chopped
3/4 tbsp tomato paste
3 tbsp water
1 clove garlic, minced

Directions

1. Place raisins in a cup of water and set aside until you need them.

2. Put chicken in a pot. Cover with water and include the cloves, cardamom pods, and peppercorns. Bring water to a boil and cook for about 20-30 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through.

3. Remove the chicken from the water. Reserve 6 cups of water you cooked the chicken in.

4. Cook your rice in the 6 cups of reserved water. If you don’t have enough to make 6 cups,  make up the rest with water. Cook the rice however you cook rice. (I used a rice cooker)

5. Place a skillet over medium-high heat and spray with Pam. Cook the onions until they become translucent. Add 2 tbsp of water. Stir quickly. When the onions are brown and the water is evaporated, set aside.

6. Lightly dust the chicken with flour. In the same skillet you cooked the onions, add a small amount of oil. Cook the chicken on both sides, until you get the outsides crispy. Set aside.

7. In the same skillet you’ve been using, combine the raisins, tomato, tomato paste, and 1 tbsp of water. Stir together continuously and cook over medium heat, until a sauce is formed.

8. Serve the chicken over the rice, with the tomato sauce on top. Place onions around the rice.

* serves 4
* about  605 calories per serving
* This dish is being shared with KB and Whitesnake’s Simply Delish Saturdays 

I’d like to see people travel the globe with me.
Every Saturday I will be posting my recipe, as well as pictures to ethnic cuisines you have made and want to share.

– You must mention The Law Student’s Cookbook‘s Around The World In 52 Weeks in the entry you link. You can either use a link or use the banner.
– In your post you must  at least mention what cuisine the dish is.
– Email me your recipe at elizabeth@crabtech.net. Make sure to include:

* Your name or blog name
* The direct link to your post
* A picture of the dish or permission to pull a picture from the post

– Make sure to email me by Saturday at 12noon Pacific Standard Time
– If you enter a recipe you will be automatically entered into my current giveaway.

One response

Leave a Reply

