Balti Chicken Vindaloo

Though this is only the second dish I’ve made out of this cookbook, Best Ever Indian Cookbook by Baljerkar, Fernandez, Husain, and Kanani, it by far is becoming my favorite cookbook.

I never thought I would see the day when making an Indian dish could be done in the sparse amount of time I have between classes. I look for short, easy recipes 3 nights a week because I am swamped with class almost all day long. I was poking through this cookbook while doing my meal planning and I came upon the “Balti” section. I’ve never heard of Balti dishes before, so I was intrigued. The book describes Balti dishes as having been developed in England. Bali dishes are described as being “cooked and served in a single pan” needing o be served only with “a simple accompaniment, such as naan or bread.” Additionally, they are easy to cook, subtly spiced, and work well with a variety of protein bases.

I’m usually a butter chicken kind of girl, so this vindaloo dish stretched my typical curry experiences.

The only thing missing was some naan. I don’t know what I was thinking.

Balti Chicken Vindaloo
(From Best Ever Indian Cooking)

Ingredients
1 large potato
2/3 cup malt vinegar
1 1/2 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 1/2 tsp chilli powder
1/4 tsp ground turmeric
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp paprika
1 tbsp tomato paste
1 1/4 cup water
8 oz boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 onions, sliced
1 tsp curry powder
2 jalapenos, chopped

Directions

1. Peel the potato. Cut into large, irregular shapes. Place in a bowl of water and set aside.

2. In a bowl, mix together the vinegar, coriander, cumin, chilli powder, turmeric, garlic powder, ginger, salt, paprika, tomato puree, and water. Pour the mixture over the chicken and set aside.

3. Heat the oil in a heavy pan and quickly fry the onions with the curry for 3-4 minutes.

4. Lower the heat and add the chicken mixture to the pan with the spices. Stir-fry for 2 minutes.

5. Drain the potato pieces and add to the pan. Cover with a lid and cook over medium to low heat for 5-7 minutes, until the sauce has thickened and the chicken and potatoes are cooked.

6. Stir in the chopped jalapenos and serve.

* serves 4
* Shared with Couscous & Consciousness‘s Cookbook Sundays and Not  Your Ordinary Recipes’s Foodie Fridays

3 responses

Leave a Reply

