Cheez-It Chicken

Chicken is by far my favorite choice of protein ever. I’ve always loved chicken, since I was little. As I’ve gotten older one of the reasons I love chicken so much is because it’s so versatile. I feel like you can do more with chicken than most other meats. You can dress it up and make it fancy, you can downplay it and make it simple . . . It can wear so many different breadings and marinades. It can do no wrong.

This chicken dress wears a breading made of Cheez-Its. I had intended to buy plain Cheez-Its, but when I was in the store I saw the Pepper Jack variety and knew that my chicken really wanted that flavor on it.

I actually could have used even a little more spice, but the flavor of the crackers on the chicken was excellent!

I served the chicken with a Brussels Sprouts Casserole, which was okay. I’m not crazy about Brussels sprouts to begin with so they’re always just “okay.” I just have to force myself to eat veggies sometimes.

Cheez-It Chicken
(source)

Ingredients
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/2 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups Cheez-Its
1/4 cup vegetable oil

Directions

1. Cut the chicken breasts in half. Pound them to about 1/2 inch thin with a mallet.

2. Place the Cheez-Its in a ziplock bag and crush them with a rolling pin.

3. Preheat the oven to 375.

4. Roll the chicken in the sour cream. Cover with crushed Cheez-Its.

5. Place in a baking dish. Drizzle with the vegetable oil.

6. Bake for approximately 40 minutes.

* serves 2
* 443 calories per serving
* Shared with Foodie Friday & Foodie Friday 

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Bridgeport Saltine Crusted Chicken and Kickin’ Collard Greens | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

