Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

It’s been so hot here lately that I’ve been staying away from the kitchen. When it’s 100+ outside the last thing I want to turn is stand over a heat source. Unfortunately it’s even too hot to barbecue. I can’t stand for more than a minute outside without wanting to run away inside.
Sometimes I wonder if maybe I’m a vampire.

Regardless, many days as of late I’ve been eating out. I really don’t like eating out all the time because I like what I cook and because I feel like it costs way more than it’s worth so much of the time to eat out. But at least I wasn’t the one sweating over my cooking food.

I’m not sure what then I decided to make a dinner where the oven was turned on – but I did. These enchiladas were delicious. Though they took awhile, I wouldn’t say they were hard.

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

Ingredients
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 tbsp Brummel&Brown
1/2 jalapeno, seeds and veins removed, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 1/2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
1/4 tsp ground cumin
dash cayenne
3 oz green enchilada sauce
6 corn tortillas
2 1/2 oz Monterey Jack cheese, grated
1/4 cup onion, diced

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 350. Season chicken with salt and pepper and toss with 1/2 tbsp olive oil. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. Once the chicken is cooked, let cool and then shred.

2. Meanwhile, in a large pot over medium-heat melt the Brummel&Brown. Add the jalapeno and cook for about 4 minutes, until soft. Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Whisk in flour for minute. Whisk in broth, whisking until the liquid thickens, about 6 minutes. Stir in the sour cream, cilantro, cumin, cayenne, and enchilada sauce. Mix together. Pour 1/4 cup of the mixture into a buttered baking dish.

3. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat a small amount of oil and cook tortillas in batches soft, about 1 minute per side. Divide the chicken between the 6 tortillas. Place the chicken, 1 tbsp of cheese, and 1 tsp of onion on each tortilla and roll into a cigar shape. Place in the prepared baking dish and cover with the sour cream mixture and cheese. Bake for 25 minutes.

* serves 2, 3 enchiladas each
* 654 calories per serving
* Shared with Mealtime Monday, Makin You Crave Monday, & Mix It Up Monday

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pal Reveal: January | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

