Baked Portobello Mozzarella

 

Oh man.

I’m such a meat eater. I know I don’t need to use meat as the star of every recipe I cook, but I typically do. I mean, I love chicken, and I love beef, and if I want to be full I always eat meat. But maybe I’ve been wrong.

I made this Baked Portobello Mozzarella and was so pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the dish was. The big mushrooms were bought at the farmers’ market this last week and were beautifully shaped. I’m really glad I decided to do this with the mushrooms instead of cutting them up, because these guys deserved to be the star of the meal.

The mushrooms tasted wonderful. You get the mushroom taste through the cheese and sauce. It definitely ranks up there pretty high in my favorite recipes.

Baked Portobello Mozzarella

Ingredients
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1 cup parmesan cheese, divided
1 tsp paprika
2 tsp salt, divided
3 eggs, beaten
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp oregano
4 portobello mushrooms
1 1/2 cups mozzarella, shredded
1 cup tomato sauce

Directions

1. Clean your mushrooms. To do so, pull the stem out of the mushroom. Then take a spoon and scrape the gills off the bottom of the mushroom.

2. Preheat the oven to 400. Line a baking sheet with foil. Place a wire rack on top of the sheet.

3. Combine the breadcrumbs, 1/2 cup of Parmesan, paprika, and 1 tsp salt into a shallow pan. Set aside.

4. In another bowl, combine the eggs, 1 tsp of salt, pepper, oregano, and garlic powder. Mix well.

5. Dip the mushroom into the egg mixture, covering both sides. Dredge the crumb mixture until both sides are completely coated with bread crumbs. Place the mushroom on the prepared wire rack, stem side down. Spray the tops with cooking spray and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and raise the heat to 450.

6. Turn the mushrooms over. Fill each mushroom with 2 tbsp of Parmesan, 1/4 cup of mozzarella, and 1/4 cup tomato sauce. Return to the oven for 10 minutes.

* serves 4
* Shared with Full Plate Thursday & Show Off Your Stuff Party

2 responses

  1. We just love Portobello Mushrooms and your recipe looks delicious, we would really enjoy it. Hope you are having a great weekend and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

