Mini Chocolate Muffins with Apple Cider Jelly Glaze

In my last Foodie Pen Pal package I received a jar of apple cider jelly from Sara. I had made the thumprint cookies that I didn’t let chill long enough. The jelly was so good I really wanted more ideas on what I should do with it. I had a comment from Stephanie who suggested a donut with jelly glaze. While I didn’t make a donut, I made mini muffins with a glaze of apple cider jelly! Thanks for the suggestion! These turned out excellent and were SO adorable (I love everything mini.)

Now that I’ve made two things with the jelly (and have eaten it smeared on toast, nom nom nom) I’m still looking for more suggestions! How else should I use this jelly to its full jelly potential?

Mini Chocolate Muffins with Apple Cider Jelly Glaze
(inspiration)

Ingredients

1 cup flour
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup sour cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
2 tbsp apple cider jelly
1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
splash vanilla

Directions

1. Grease a mini muffin pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, nutmeg, and salt.  Cut the butter into the dried ingredients until it resembles a coarse sand.

3. In another bowl, whisk the buttermilk, sour cream, vanilla, and egg. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir together until combined.

4. Fill each mini cupcake 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the muffins spring back when touched in the center. Set aside for several minutes. Once the muffins are not too hot to touch, place them on a wire rack.

5. While the muffins are cooling, make the glaze. Whisk the jelly together with the vanilla. Slowly add the confectioner’s sugar, whisking together until you have a thick syrup. You may not need all the confectioner’s sugar.

6. Dip the top of each muffin into the glaze. Place back on the rack and allow the glaze to set.

* makes 24 mini muffins

Leave a Reply

