Foodie Penpal Reveal: October

 

Welcome to my fifth foodie penpal reveal!

What is foodie penpals you ask? Here’s a breakdown:

  • On the 5th of the month you receive an email pairing you with information about who you’re paired with. You email that person to get information pertaining to allergies and dietary restriction.
  • By the 15th you put together a box of treats and mail them to your partner.
  • On the last day of the month you post a blog post about your box of treats

This month my box came from Illinois from Gail. My last month has been horribly busy, as you can probably guess by my lack of updates since my last foodie penpal reveal. I’ve been juggling school, work, a sprained ankle, the death of my cat, the welcome of a new kitten, and now an infection on my face. Basically, it hasn’t been easy. And because one of my professors thought it was a lovely idea to assign two papers due on the same week, things just haven’t calmed down. The last of the two papers is due today though, so at least there’s that. Anyway, I have finals coming up in about a month so I’m not expecting things to calm down until mid-December. Especially since right before finals start I have a trial that I have to prepare for. It probably will get dismissed though, but you never know.

Anyway, that’s my hectic life. Understandably, I’m not the only one trying to juggle things. Gail was having some trouble finding a time to get to the post office when it was opened, which I totally get because I have the same problem too. Unfortunately though, because my box was a little later than usual (which is fine!) I wasn’t able to make a meal using one of the components of the box. I do still plan on it though and once I make it, I will link it up with this post.

Gail managed to pack me a box full of things I’ve never tried. It’s been a treat!

Because Illinois is the soybean capital of the world, Gail packed me a container of soybeans. I’ve never actually had a soybean like this before. It was crunchy and salty. They reminded me of a mixture between popcorn and a peanut. It’s actually nothing like popcorn, but I don’t know why it made me think of it. These are delicious though and are a great snack!

 

In the box was also these Trader Joe’s Cats Cookies for People. Given I had just gotten my new kitty Isabelle this week, I couldn’t have asked for a more opportune treat! These little cookies aren’t too sweat and are so easy to just toss into your mouth.

Gail also included these kale chips, at the suggestion of the Trader Joe’s cashier. I’ve had kale chips once before and they weren’t my favorite things in the world. For as much as I like kale, I thought the other ones I had needed something. These Trader Joe’s chips have exactly what was needed! The flavoring on these is great!

 

These pita chips are actually my favorite part of the box this month. I was blown away at how yummy they were. I don’t typically consider pita chips a sweet snack, but these proved otherwise! I ended up getting some pumpkin ice cream and eating the chips and the ice cream together. Not very healthy . . . But yummy!

Gail also packed me up some pumpkin granola cereal, which is great! I love pumpkin flavors and I always look forward to October when it seems like everything gets made in a pumpkin variety. My boyfriend actually had the first taste of the granola cereal. He mixed it with maple yogurt.

 

Lastly Gail sent giardiniera. I’ve never had this before and I haven’t opened the container yet. This is actually what I plan to use to make a meal out of. I’m planning to make Italian Beef Sandwiches. It’s an Italian-American relish that I am excited to try!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

