Spicy Marinated Pork on top of Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Coconut Milk

 

I have a love affair with mashed sweet potatoes. When I was a little girl I LOVED mashed potatoes. I would eat them and eat them and never stop. As I have grown up, I continue to love mashed potatoes. But recently with my discovery of sweet potatoes, I think they may be even better than a standard mash – well, I guess sometimes at least. This was one of those times though. This dish needed these sweet potatoes. A normal person making this dish would have paired the pork with rice. The pork recipe is actually for Dae Ji Bool Goji (Korean Spicy Marinated Pork). The suggested way to serve the dish was with rice and kimchi.

But sweet potatoes? Why not.

The pork is really spicy. The sweet potatoes helped balance the level of spiciness and made it palatable (otherwise I think the pork would have been too spicy.) The flavors of the pork was wonderful paired with the sweet potatoes/coconut milk. This is a dish I’d make again!

Spicy Marinated Pork

Ingredients
2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp soy sauce
1/4 cup garlic chili sauce
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 tbsp ginger, minced
1 tbsp red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1 1/2 tbsp sugar
2 green onions, chopped
1/4 onion, sliced
1 lb pork loin, cut into pieces
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Directions

1. Stir together the vinegar, soy sauce, garlic chili sauce, garlic, ginger, red pepper flakes, black pepper, green onions, sugar, and yellow onion in a large bowl. Mix in the pork and evenly coat it with the marinade. Put in the refrigerator and marinate for 3 minutes.

2. Heat the vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the pork into the skillet in batches and cook until no longer pink in the center, about 5 minutes.

* serves 4
* 441 calories per serving

Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Coconut Milk

Ingredients
1 1/2 lb sweet potato, peeled and cubed
3/4 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp ginger, minced
1/2 tsp kosher salt

Directions

1. Fill a large pot with water. Place over high heat until boiling. Add the sweet potato and boil until tender, about 20 minutes. Drain the sweet potatoes and return to the pot.

2. Add the coconut milk, ginger, and salt to the sweet potatoes. Mash until the consistency of mashed potatoes.

* serves 4
* 157 calories per serving

* Shared with Sweet Treats & Swanky Stuff Saturday & Weekend Cooking

15 responses

  1. I’m not a big fan of sweet potatoes usually, but the combination of ginger, coconut milk, and salt could definitely win me over. Pork loin was on sale at the market today, but I was already planning on trying a slow cooker pulled pork recipe this weekend so I bought the pork shoulder. Your spicy pork recipe looks delicious!

  2. The pork sounds absolutely delicious!! Are your sweet potatoes white or is that potato mash in the photo? In Australia our sweet potato is orange (pumpkin colour)

  3. I’ve just recently discovered white sweet potatoes, which apparently are the real sweet potatoes! Like Teddyree, I always called the orange ones (which are technically yams) sweet potatoes. Now I’m on the hunt for recipes to use the white ones–so thanks for sharing! I’m going to try this.

Leave a Reply

