Foodie Penpal Reveal: November

I slacked this month. I received this box full of excellent food, including a recipe for a dip, but for some reason I just haven’t gotten around to making it yet, which also means I haven’t eaten the crackers because I want them in the dip. This is what happens towards the end of the semester for me. I get crazy with school. I then slack with school. And then I get nothing done anywhere. I get nothing fun done, I get nothing productive done, I just do very little.

Anyway, without further ado: FOODIE PEN PALS!

What is foodie pen pals you ask? Here’s a breakdown:

  • On the 5th of the month you receive an email pairing you with information about who you’re paired with. You email that person to get information pertaining to allergies and dietary restriction.
  • By the 15th you put together a box of treats and mail them to your partner.
  • On the last day of the month you post a blog post about your box of treat

I am convinced that my pen pal this month, Alexandra, is actually a mind reader. When I received my treat box in the mail at first I just figured that maybe I had told her that I was having a hot chocolate obsession, that I loved sweet potatoes, and my boyfriend absolutely loves cheesey crackers. But then when I went back and looked at the email I sent her, I had said nothing of the sort! But she knew! She knew things I hadn’t even thought to write down. And I kid you not, my hot chocolate obsession started this month when I was buying my own Foodie Pen Pal a bar of chocolate at a local store that is known for their hot chocolate. So you know, when I emailed Alexandra about what I was looking for I didn’t even know how obsessed with hot chocolate I was going to be this season! How did she even know before I did?! This girl is amazing, I tell you.

So these are the sweet potato crackers I haven’t opened yet. Perhaps I just should have had one to let everyone know how it was – but I really want to make the dip Alexandra suggested. But here’s reason number one why Alexandra must be a mind reader. I love sweet potatoes. I think they outdo the potato most always and make a wonderful sweet potato fry. I put sweet potatoes in stews. I roast it. I love them. How could I dislike a cracker? I really should  open these. Maybe I’ll eat at least one without the dip tonight.

I also got this package of Chai Spiced Hot Chocolate. In love! In heaven! This stuff is magnificent and perfect for when it’s cold outside! I wish I could get more of this, but it has also encouraged me to try more varieties of hot chocolate. Like I mentioned above, I’ve really been having a hot chocolate thing this month. I got my first cup of the season at Ginger Elizabeth when I was buying my pen pal a very special chocolate bar. I proceeded to get hot chocolates from Peet’s, Starbucks, from a local place by work, and pretty much where ever I see hot chocolate. This was the perfect gift, especially given my obsession.

Next were cheese straws. Cheese straws remind me a lot of Cheez-Its. My boyfriend loves Cheez-Its. He also loved the cheese straws. And I don’t blame him! They made a great treat!

Lastly was this innocuous white package. Apparently Alexandra’s fiance works for a food company and this is a product not yet released! It’s a pretzel bite filled with peanut butter and with chocolate. So yummy! The combination of the flavors was on point!

Anyway, despite my own slacking this month with getting the recipe together, Alexandra hit it out of the park with this box.

It might be good there’s no food boxes getting shipped in December, because this is going to be a hard box to top.

If you’re wondering what’s happening with Foodie Pen Pal’s in December, there are no boxes being sent. Instead we are being asked to donate to charity to help those affected by Superstorm Sandy. For more information go here.

8 responses

  1. It’s always a dilemma whether to give a lot of little things, or a few more expensive things. I go back and forth. But this was a great example of a few spot-on bigger things!

  2. Glad you enjoyed it! And I will see what I can do about getting you some Cheez-It samples for your boyfriend (the new flavors make an appearance in the sample box some months!)

Leave a Reply

