Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

IMG_8233

 

This will probably be the last slow cooked recipe you see for a month. I’m done with school! This meal was made for last night because I had an evening final. I have one more evening final on the 4th, but I decided to make an easy salad that night (maybe I’ll start sharing my meal plans again, because why not?) Yeah, I think I will.. They will be listed at the top of the blog with the other links once I get it up.

Anyway, because I’ll be home in the evenings for the next month I’ll have time to cook! Wahoo! But next semester is going to be even crazier than this one; I have late classes three days a week. But then.. Then I’ll be done. If I pass.

This was a really easy recipe. It didn’t take any culinary skill besides the skill of dumping. But it tasted good and it lasted more than one meal. Tonight I made biscuits with fresh oregano from my AeroGarden to go with it and it was perfect and full of carbs.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew
(source)

Ingredients
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes
5 red potatoes, cubed
3 carrots, sliced
4 (10-oz) cans condensed cream of chicken soup
2 tbsp chicken bouillon
2 tsp garlic salt
1 tbsp ground black pepper
1 (16-oz) bag frozen mixed vegetables

Directions

1. Combine the chicken, potatoes, carrot, soup, bouillon, garlic, salt, and pepper in a slow cooker. Cook on high for 7 hours.

2. Add the frozen mixed vegetables. Reduce slow cooker to low and cook for 1 more hour.

* makes about 8 servings
* Shared with Foodie Friday, Foodie Friday, Foodie Friends Friday, & Weekend Potluck

10 responses

  1. This recipe looks amazing! I found you through Food Lust People Love (Stacy’s blog) and just love your recipes. I’m glad you made it through exams last week. If you are heading into your last semester of law school then you don’t need to worry about passing – you are just really marking time until the Bar exam in July. Middle Child – Lawyer Boy – graduated last spring and took the bar exam at end of July. As an L3 he was just ready to get out and practice! Enjoy your time off – this will be the last “school’s out” vacations for you! 🙂

  2. Slow cooker recipes are definitely ideal for when you’re busy! I never seem to have the time to throw together a pot pie but this sounds like the perfect alternative!

  3. I love just dumping food in my crockpot. It’s a great way to cook but I go through phases of using it a lot and then hardly using it for ages. At the moment I’m using it about once a week.

  4. Pingback: Top 12 For 2012 | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

