Bridgeport Saltine Crusted Chicken and Kickin’ Collard Greens

IMG_8260

 

I was actually going to make Cheez-It Chicken that I’ve made on here before for dinner the other night. But I’ve been studying my brains off. I’ve literally completed 6 finals between November 30th and December 6th. Basically, every time I finished something I just had more to do. (I’m done now though, YAY!!)

Since I’ve been so busy though, I didn’t get to the grocery store when I usually do. I was writing a 5,000 word paper. I really didn’t have time to go to the store. But I still needed to eat.

One thing I didn’t have in my house was cheez-its. I had the rest of the entirely minimal amount of ingredients on hand already, but just no cheez-its. I dug through my cabinet to see what I could do. Two things:

– Saltine crackers
– Bridgeport Seasoning from my August Foodie Pen Pal package

The Bridgeport seasoning is cheesy and worked perfectly to make my faux-cheez chicken.

I figured this is definitely my entry for Pantry Party this month. I hope to get more entries for the party, so don’t forget! Starting next month there will be themes to use supplies in your cabinet, but this month is a free for all.

Anyway, the collard greens were the perfect accompaniment to the chicken. I never really liked collard greens, but this was perfect.

Bridgeport Saltine Crusted Chicken

Ingredients
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut in half
1/2 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups saltine crackers, crushed
2 tbsp Bridgeport seasoning
1/4 cup vegetable oil

Directions

1. Pound your chicken breast halves so they a 1/2-inch thick.

2. Place the saltine cracker crumbs and Bridgeport seasoning in a ziplock bag. Shake well to combine. Spoon the sour cream into a shallow dish.

3. Roll the chicken into the sour cream. Shake the chicken in the saltine crumbs to make sure the chicken is well coated. Place in a baking dish. Cover with the vegetable oil.

4. Bake at 375 for 40 minutes.

* serves 2

Kickin’ Collard Greens
(source)

Ingredients
1/2 tbsp olive oil
2 slices bacon
1/2 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 pinch chili powder
8-oz frozen collard greens

Directions

1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the bacon and cook until crisp. Place on paper towels to drain. Crumble and return to the skillet with onions. Saute until tender for about 5 minutes. Add the garlic until fragrant. Add the frozen collard greens and if they are sticking together, break up the ice with a wooden spoon.

2. Pour in chicken broth and season with salt, pepper, and chili powder. Bring to a boil and then cover. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes.

* serves 3

* Shared with Pantry Party, Full Plate Thursday, & Catch A Glimpse Party

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for the mini muffin pan!

7 responses

  1. I love chicken AND collards – I love collards when they are done well. Ever had them when someone didn’t know how to work them up so they left the tough stems on? Man, I hate that. Generally you’ll find that at a restaraunt. the chicken sounds wonderful as well – I’m not familiar with Bridgeport seasoning so I’ll have to google that and see what it is!

  2. The idea of rolling the chicken in sour cream first really appeals to me. I love this idea! I also admire that you dug around and found something that would work. Hate to admit it, but I probably would have thrown in the towel and gotten take out. Oops!

    Hope you have a nice time relaxing for a while.

    I didn’t forget about the pantry party–I have a post I’m working on for this week!

  3. We have very nice Collard in our Garden right now, there is nothing like a great pot of Collards. I can’t wait to try your Chicken, it looks awesome! Hope you have a great week and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  4. Pingback: Pantry Party December Round Up | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

