Violet Beauregarde Cake Pops (Chocolate Mint Cake Pops)

IMG_8304

 

At Food ‘n Flix this month we watched Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, this month hosted by welldined.com. Willy Wonka is such a creepy movie. And while the original Willy Wonka isn’t as outwardly creepy as the remake of the movie, I find the original Willy Wonka more believable and therefore… more scary.

I knew what I was going to make right away. Unfortunately this whole cake pop experience turned out to be a disaster. I wanted to make cake pops for the part in the movie where Violet turns into a giant blueberry. I mean . . . She turned round and blue. So a blueberry cake pop seemed perfect!

blueberry-violet

 

My plan was to make a blueberry cake, to use cream cheese frosting, and coat the cake pops in blue candy. The only part of this that actually worked was the blue candy portion. I’m going to a Christmas party tonight, so I felt these blueberry cake pops would be a nice addition.

I went to the grocery store and there was no blueberries. OH? I could have went to another store, but it was getting late and I wanted to get home and make dinner. I decided instead I’d make another flavor cake and coat the pops in the blue candy. Unfortunately the recipe I picked for the cake was probably not the right recipe. It was a pretty moist cake and once mixed with the frosting, it was really moist. Maybe I added too much frosting. Whatever though, they turned out okay. And really, the flavor was nice. I made a rich chocolate cake and mixed some peppermint into the frosting.

But then disaster hit in the guise of a kitten named Isabelle. I put the cake pops to set in my office and right as I went to close the door, she dive bombed into the cake pops, getting her kitten fur into a ton of them and knocking another few off their sticks. As of this morning I only have about 5 pops that she didn’t get all over. So . . . obviously I don’t have cake pops to bring to the party.

IMG_8309

 

Time to get back to the kitchen and whip something else out for tonight.

How To Make Cake Pops

Ingredients
1 cake recipe, cooked
1 container frosting
2 packages of candy chips
sprinkles
Popsicle sticks

Directions

1. After your cake is baked and cooled, place in your food processor. Process the food into crumbs. Mix the frosting into with your hands.

2. Line a baking sheet with wax paper. Roll the cake/frosting mix into tsp size balls and place on the baking sheet. Put the baking sheet in the freezer for an hour.

3. While the cake is freezing, melt your candy in a double boiler or microwave. If the candy isn’t melting smooth enough, add some shortening.

4. Stick each stick into the melted candy. Stick the candy coated stick into the cake ball, 2/3 of the way through. Let sit for several minutes.

5. Cover each cake pop with the melted candy. Then roll in sprinkles.

6. Place somewhere where the cake pop can sit straight up (Styrofoam works, but I used the holes in a colander.) Let the candy set and then enjoy!

IMG_8312

* besides Food ‘n Flix, these cake pops are shared with Foodie Friday, Foodie Friday, Foodie Friends Friday, & Weekend Potluck

5 responses

  1. What a cool idea!! I love your concept, and am sorry for your catastrophe… I have a real understanding about such things! *Ü* Outstanding submission!!

  2. Pingback: Food ‘n Flix Roundup « welldined.com

Leave a Reply

