Mushroom Orzo

IMG_8340

I’m home at my parents’ for the holidays. My recipe posts may be light the next week (though I guess it’s possible they might be increased because I am helping around here, obviously.) It’s so nice to be home. I have slept an incredible amount since I’ve been here. I guess I didn’t realize how tired I was until I had a chance to actually relax and sit down and not have anything to do. This sleep is doing me well I think.

Last night for dinner my mom pulled a leftover turkey breast from Thanksgiving out of the freezer to thaw. After foraging the refrigerator we decided to make mushroom orzo. It was kind of reminiscent of risotto, cheesy, creamy, and delicious!

Mushroom Orzo
(source)

Ingredients
1/2 cup Brummel&Brown (or other margarine or butter), divided
1 onion, diced
1 cup uncooked orzo
1/2 cup portabello mushrooms, cut into pieces
1 cup water
1/2 cup white wine
garlic powder, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
1/4 cup parsley, diced

Directions

1. Melt 1/4 cup of the Brummel&Brown in a heavy skillet over medium heat. Stir in the onions and cook until brown. Mix in the orzo, mushrooms, and remaining butter. Cook and stir for 5 minutes, until the butter melts and the mushrooms are tender.

2. Pour the water and wine into the skillet and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic, and cook for 9 minutes. Stir in the Parmesan and parsley.

* serves 6
* Shared with See Ya In The Gumbo

ENTER THE CHRISTMAS GIVEAWAY

One response

  1. Cheesy, creamy, and delicious is right. This orzo looks so good! I could make a meal out of it alone.
    Glad you are getting some rest! Thanks for taking time away from all the festivities this time of year to link up. I appreciate it! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

