Red Velvet Shortbread Cookies

IMG_8410

 

This is probably my last Christmas-themed post until 2013. I’ve already shared my Christmas breakfast, my Christmas dinner, Christmas cookies I made as presents, and now finally I’m sharing one of the many cookies I made after a cookie baking extravaganza that ensued once I was officially on my break.

Now.. I actually baked a lot more cookies than just these shortbread cookies.. But I forgot to take a picture of them before they were gone. The only reason there were extra of these was because I made a second batch because the first batch disappeared in lightening speed. Of the cookies I made this season, these were my absolute favorite (tied closely to the Mocha Swirl Cookies I gave as presents this year.)

The first batch of these cookies was beautiful, more beautiful than these. My red was deeper because I had a better food coloring than my mom had in her house, and I used these white sparkly sprinkles on the first batch. Had my mom had that more crystal like type of sprinkle I would have used that instead of the jimmy style sprinkles. I thought they looked prettier and were less bulky on the cookie. I liked that the cookie wasn’t overly sweet like many cookies that come at Christmas – but this is a shortbread and is more buttery than anything.

If I’m part of any cookie exchanges next year, this is the cookie I’ll be sharing for sure.

Red Velvet Shortbread Cookies
(source)

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, cold and cut into chunks
1 tbsp red food coloring (or if you’re using a gel food coloring, DO NOT use that much – use enough to make a deep red)
3 oz chocolate chips
1 1/2 tsp shortening
sprinkles

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 325. In a food processor, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, and salt. Process several times to combine well. Add the food coloring and butter, several chunks at a time and pulse until the mixture resembles crumbs. Continue to process until the mixture begins to clump together.

2. Remove the dough from the processor bowl and place it on a floured surface. Knead lightly until smooth. Roll out the dough to about 1/2-inch thickness. Using a round cookie cutter that is approximately 1 1/2-inches round, cut out the dough. Place the cookies on an ungreased cookie sheet. Place the dough scraps together and roll out again, continuing to cut as many cookies out of the dough as possible.

3. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and allow to cool.

4. In a heavy sauce pan, melt the chocolate chips and shortening over low heat, stirring consistently. Dip half of each cookie into the melted chocolate and then sprinkle the melted chocolate on the cookie with sprinkles. Let stand on waxed paper until dry.

* makes about 2 dozen cookies
* shared with Foodie Friday, Freedom Fridays, & Friday Food Frenzy

One response

Leave a Reply

