Spaghetti Squash Fritters

IMG_8427

I don’t usually end up with leftovers, but I only made half of the recipe when I made the Spaghetti Squash and Turkey Meatballs, so I had extra spaghetti squash that was already roasted that I needed to use. I decided it would make a great breakfast. These fritters kept me full until lunchtime. They were seasoned perfectly and really easy to make and were definitely something different from the standard breakfast food.

I’m trying to use more leftovers to make breakfast foods. Yesterday I had the mushroom mixture leftover from the same spaghetti squash dish and served it over scrambled eggs. Today I’m having tuna patties on toast. And tomorrow I’m having poached eggs in curry (with a curry dish I haven’t posted about here yet, but will be doing probably tomorrow.)

Do you ever repurpose leftovers to make breakfast?

Spaghetti Squash Fritters

Ingredients
1 cup spaghetti squash, roasted and dethreaded
1 egg
2 tbsp onions, diced
1 garlic clove, minced
pinch of chili powder
1/2 tbsp olive oil

Directions

1. Combine together the spaghetti squash, egg, onions, garlic, and chili powder. Make a batter by mixing it together.

2. Form about three patties with the mixture.

3. Heat the olive oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat. Once hot fry the patties for 7 minutes on each side.

* serves 1
* shared with Weekend Cooking

15 responses

  1. What cool way to use up spaghetti squash. We have no problem with leftovers, but we like much better when they are repurposed. You are doing what my mother used to cal “chain cooking.” — just keep using what’s available from meal to meal.

  2. I’ve never thought of using spaghetti squash for fritters. I like it! As far as leftovers for breakfast, my husband is a master at using leftovers to make one of his “kitchen sink” skillets. Everything from leftover ham to taco meat, mixed with eggs, hashbrowns, sometimes crushed tortilla chips for extra crunch, cheese, salsa…etc. You get the idea. Somehow even the oddest combinations end up tasting good!

  3. These look delicious! I’m pretty good about using leftovers to make an omelet or frittata, but this was a great way to use leftover squash. I’ll have to try these with my next spaghetti squash!

Leave a Reply

