Jamaican Curry

IMG_8428

 

This month I’m participating in Cooking Around The World. This month the blog is traveling to the Caribbean and we were challenged to make a dish from any of the Caribbean islands.

I decided to go with Jamaica. I wish I could be in Jamaica right now for real. With this Sacramento-cold (which I know isn’t even that bad compared to a lot of the United States,) I could use a day of sunshine. I’ve been waking up and having to scrape ice from my car windows every morning. I’d rather have to worry about putting on sunscreen than standing outside in the cold shivering scraping my car windows.

Anyway, the recipe I found wasn’t exactly authentic. It’s Martha Stewart. It was delicious though. And it made me dream of the beach.

Jamaican Curry

Ingredients
2 tbsp vegetable oil
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tsp ground cumin
3 tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 cup water, divided
salt, to taste
4 carrots, thinly sliced
1 can coconut milk
1 10-oz package frozen peas, thawed
Cooked rice, for serving

Directions

1. In a heavy pot, heat oil over medium-high heat. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Working in two batches, brown chicken for 3 to 4 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate.

2. Reduce the heat to medium. Add the onion, garlic, cumin, curry powder, thyme, and 1/2 cup of water. Season with salt. Cook, stirring occasionally for 3 to 5 minutes, until the onion is soft.

3. Add carrots, coconut milk, 1/2 cup water, and chicken. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cover, cooking until the carrots are tender, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in the peas.

4. Serve the curry over rice.

* serves 4

Bloggers Around the World Logo

One response

  1. Thank you for taking part, Elizabeth! I can absolutely understand this cold and heat thing. Maybe that’s why I chose the Caribbean for the cold time of the year. The curry sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

