Foodie Pen Pal Reveal: January

FPP-post

 

After taking a month off from sending food packages to each other and instead donating money to those affected by the storms on the east coast that ravaged towards the end of last year, Foodie Pen Pal’s is back for more packages being sent packed with food.

This month I received a box from Jillian, from Her Split Ends. She did a wonderful job of getting me foods that I love. Flavors and foods I told her I was craving this month included: tea, chocolate, squash, quick to eat snacks, and mango.

The box I sent went to Dominique. She had requested a recipe and told me that she liked Mexican food, so I sent her a recipe to the Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas I’ve made before. The box mainly consisted of the ingredients to make the dish (minus the chicken and the sour cream and other super perishable things) as well as a box of Mexican hot chocolate. I live in a very Hispanic neighborhood. One of the grocery stores I frequent is actually a Mexican market, so coming about Mexican food is very easy for me (as are other cuisines – I love California.)

Anyway, you might be wondering what Foodie Pen Pals is. You’re probably wondering how is possible that some stranger somewhere in the country got your name and address and decided to send you a box of food.

Foodie Pen Pals is a program that Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean put together, where she pairs people together to send boxes of food to each other, based on likes and dislikes.

  • On the 5th of the month you receive an email pairing you with information about who you’re paired with. You email that person to get information pertaining to allergies and dietary restriction.
  • By the 15th you put together a box of treats and mail them to your partner.
  • On the last day of the month you post a blog post about your box of treat

Without further ado, let’s look at what Jillian sent me.

IMG_8524First things first. Here’s a picture of what I unpacked from my box. I forgot to include the card Jillian sent in the picture, but it read:

“Elizabeth
Happy Foodie Penpal Package! I hope you enjoy all this yummy goodness! Good luck in law school and in your future!!
Love & Joy
Jillian
http://www.hersplitends.com”

IMG_8528

 

In the initial email I sent to Jillian I told her that while I love to cook, I have a ton of night classes this semester. I get sooo hungry when it’s 9 o’clock and I haven’t eaten dinner yet. Snacks are essential to my survival. Jillian sent me quite a few snacks, some of which I’d never have before. These Chia & Fruit Clusters, for instance, were something I have never had (or even seen) before. They were great. I brought them to school with me a few nights to munch on during lectures. They were filling without being too filling.

IMG_8529

A container of mango coconut water was also included. Honestly, I haven’t had it yet. I brought it to work with me one day to include in my lunch, but then we ended up going out to get Mexican and I forgot I had it with me. I do intend to drink it today. The idea of mango and coconut water together sounds delightful.

IMG_8530

 

Jillian also included several tea bags. I love tea. Lately, with how cold it is outside, I’ve been drinking multiple glasses a day. I’ve used two of the tea bags so far and they were both great.

IMG_8531For as much as Justin’s Nut Butters are shared on Foodie Pen Pals, I’ve never actually tried it. I’ve even sent it, but I haven’t tried it. I used the Maple Almond Butter with a bowl of oatmeal. I ate the Chocolate Hazelnut with a banana (though I was tempted to just squeeze the package in my mouth.) I love Nutella. Justin’s tasted like a healthier version of one of my favorites.

IMG_8525I’m a chocholic, so this bar of chocolate did not last very long. And get this! My boyfriend watched as I opened the box, saw this bar of chocolate, and darted off with it. Lucky I got it back. Chocolate and orange is one of the most delightful flavors (and in fact, is my favorite ice cream flavor.) I was good though and didn’t off the bar in one sitting. I shared it with my boyfriend and actually savored it for several days.

IMG_8526Jillian also included a Kind bar for me. This made a great snack during one of those evening classes where my stomach was growling.

IMG_8527Last, but definitely not least, was a box of Butternut Squash Risotto. This was a very easy way to make risotto and was incredibly flavorful. I actually had it for dinner last night. I intended to take a picture of what I had done with it, but I forgot and only remembered when the meal was gone. I made Simple Garlic Shrimp and served them on top of the rice. There were also kale chips for the side. It was a nice, easy dinner.

Jillian did an excellent job of putting together a box for me with things that I loved! Thanks Jillian!

 

 

 

 

3 responses

Leave a Reply

