Slow Cooker Lentil Cauliflower Stew

IMG_8571

 

This week’s slow cooker meal was another lentil dish. I’ve been going through a lentil thing lately. I’ve been using them a whole lot. This stew has lasted multiple days. I made it on Tuesday and I’ve had a bowl everyday since then. Tomorrow will be the day I kill the last of it.

I have a lot of problems with beans typically. I can’t eat black beans, white beans, and kidney beans among others because I get such bad stomach cramps from the gas that beans gas. You know that old song, “Beans beans they’re good for your heart, the more you eat, the more you fart?” Yeah.. I get so much gas that I feel like a hot air balloon. The point of my story about gas is that lentils don’t do that for me.

Slow Cooker Lentil Cauliflower Stew
(source)

Ingredients
16 oz dried lentils
1 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb cauliflower, chopped into small florets
2 leeks, chopped
2 large carrots, chopped
3 celery stalks, chopped
2 bay leaves
1 tsp dried thyme
2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
8 cups vegetable broth
2 15-oz cans petite diced tomatoes
cheddar cheese, shredded to taste

Directions

1. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Saute the onions for 4 minutes. Add the garlic and saute for an additional minute.

2. Pour the softened onions and garlic into the slow cooker. Add the rest of the ingredients as well (except for the cheese.)

3. Cover the slow cooker and cook for 8 hours on low.

4. When the stew is done, serve and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.

* serves 12
* shared with Souper Sunday at Kahakai Kitchen and Weekend Cooking

11 responses

  1. I love lentils! I love the slow cooker! One way to lessen the gas of beans is to soak them overnight before cooking and then rinse them very well. Most of the sugars that create the gas will be dissolved in the soaking water.

  2. Sorry to hear about your bean woes…. although it is a success if you can still eat lentils. 🙂 I love lentils but rarely make such a big batch of it. It should be good to freeze, though. I love unearthing soups form my freezer, especially ones with summer produce that I eat in the winter. 🙂

  3. I’ve had better luck with lentils and split peas in that way, too. I’ve done much better since I learned the soaking and rinsing tricks for other beans.

  4. Pingback: Weekend cooking: Re-arranging cookbooks

Leave a Reply

