Apple and Butternut Squash Hash

Apple Butternut Squash Hash

 

My life as a law student changed in the last few days. The reason for the lack of posts was due to a lack of cooking. This lack of cooking was due to the fact that I’ve been in trial. I wasn’t on trial for myself, but I was acting as the defense attorney. I was being supervised the entire time, but the trial was mine. It was my strategy, it was my questions, it was my opening and closing. I ended up not winning, my client was found guilty, but I truly feel that was because the law just wasn’t really on my side in this case.

While I wasn’t happy that I lost, it was a great experience. I’ve been pretty useless for the last week. I haven’t stayed caught up in my classes. I haven’t been cleaning my house. I haven’t cooked dinner or made lunch. All I’ve been doing is prepping.

I don’t even know how I’m going to make my life function when my trials are more than two days long. 🙂
Just kidding. I loved the whole thing and not cooking for a week was so worth it.

This is the first meal I’ve made since I took my trial hiatus. It was a great breakfast. I love the combination of apples and butternut squash.

Apple and Butternut Squash Hash
(source)

Ingredients
1/2 butternut squash, skin removed, seeds removed, and shredded
1 apple, seeds removed and shredded
1/2 lb mild Italian sausage
2 strips bacon, diced
1/4 yellow onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp dried basil
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

1. Shred the butternut squash and the apple in a food processor with the grater attachment.

2. In a cast iron skillet cook the bacon pieces. Flip the bacon several times and cook until the bacon is crispy. Remove and set aside.

3. In the bacon grease cook the onions and garlic. Cook until the onions are translucent.

4. Add the sausage to the skillet. Break up with a wooden spoon. When the sausage is half way cooked add the shredded apples and butternut squash. Add the basil, salt, and pepper and mix around. Cook for about 3 minutes.

5. Cover the skillet and lower the heat. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. If after 10 minutes the squash isn’t tender, cook for 10 more.

6. Add the bacon squash mixture.

* serves 2-3
* shared with Foodie Friends Friday, Foodie Friday, & Weekend Potluck

4 responses

  1. Butternut squash and apple sounds like an excellent combination to me – deeply comforting. Congrats on your trial – even if you didn’t win this time.

Leave a Reply

