COPIED: In-N-Out Burgers

IMG_8679

Wow. I’m usually better about updating around these parts, but I just hadn’t been cooking anything recently that I deemed blog worthy. But last night landed me upon a keeper. I picked this recipe to participate in Chris’s Bloggers Around The World. Each month Chris picks a country that his readers are encouraged to cook a recipe from. Last month we went to Mexico. This month was the US.

The US is such a huge country. What is local cuisine here (California) is very different than the local cuisine of say, Georgia. Because of this I had a wide range of dishes I could have cooked from. Fried chicken? Barbecue? I have a ton of options.

I decided to reign it in though and go more locally. In-N-Out is a local hamburger chain. In-N-Out is only available in five states. And it has a tiny menu with a somewhat larger secret menu. The main/public menu has three options: hamburger, cheeseburger, and double-double (double meat, double cheese.) When I was little (and by little, I mean up to about age 18) I wouldn’t eat hamburgers. I hated them; I thought they were vile. But In-N-Out changed all of this and ever since I’ve loved hamburgers of all varieties.

Anyway, I thought this burger was the best way to represent the US for this month’s country.

The sauce isn’t quite right, but I think I did it justice. My burger was a lot bigger than the patties they use at In-N-Out. And Matt announced, “This is the best burger I’ve EVER had!”

Next time I make these I need to make fries… ANIMAL STYLE!

COPIED: In-N-Out Burgers
(source)

Ingredients
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 tbsp ketchup
1/2 tbsp vinegar
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp relish
1/2 onion, sliced
1/2 lb ground beef
1 egg yolk
1/4 cup bread crumbs
2 slices Velveta cheese
2 hamburger buns

Directions

1. Toast your hamburger buns and set aside.

2. In a bowl stir together the mayonnaise, ketchup, vinegar, sugar, and relish. Set aside.

3. In a cast iron skillet, grill the onion slices.

3. In a large bowl use your hands to combine the ground beef, egg yolk, and bread crumbs together. Spray a cast iron skillet with cooking spray. Form two patties with the ground beef mixture and cook in the skillet for 5 minutes per side.

4. After you’ve cooked the patties on both sides, top with a slice of cheese. Lower the heat and cover with a lid. Allow the cheese to melt.

5. Slather the sauce onto the buns. Place the bun in the burger. Garnish with the grilled onion. Add any lettuce and tomato as desired.

* serves 2
* besides Blogger’s Around The World, this recipe is shared with Foodie Friends Friday, Foodie FridayWeekend Potluck,  & Foodie Friday

8 responses

  1. My husband and boys love 2 things: Jimmy Buffett and In N Out Burgers. There have been a few weekends where the hubs has tried to talk me into driving to Phoenix to get one. Phoenix is about 12 hours from here! I was never so glad when Dallas opened a store. It’s only 2 hours away but still……….that wastes an entire day. Thanks for posting this so I can try to make it at home and Mr. Picky Eater, Lawyer Boy, and Wonder Boy will think I’m REALLY learning how to cook!

    • It’s things they’ll make you that aren’t on their little menu 🙂

      I think this is what’s on it, but there could be more:

      – On the menu it has a double-double (double cheese, double patties,) but their secret menu will allow you to order a 3×3 or a 4×4 also (so either 3 or 4 patties.)

      – Grilled cheese

      – Animal Style Burger: they grill the onions in the burger juice and give you extra sauce plus the onions

      – Animal Style Fries: they put the In ‘n Out sauce, the grilled onions in the burger juice, and melted cheese. I always order this when I go in.

      – Protein Style: If you don’t want the extra carbs of the bun, they’ll wrap your burger in lettuce.

      – Neapolitan Shake: a mixture of chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla milkshakes

      Others that I’ve never ordered, but have read about online include:

      – Mustard grilled burger: where they put mustard on the grill and grill your burger in it

      – Wish Burger: Basically, the burger.. sans burger. So the buns, the sauce, all the veggies, but no meat.

      – Flying Dutchman: 2 slices of cheese melted between 2 patties with the sauce. You can also get this animal style

      – Root Beer Float

      – Chopped chilis on your burger

      I hope you love it!

Leave a Reply

