Sausage and Roasted Pepper Pasta

IMG_8794

 

I have quite a collection of Cooking Light magazines from years ago. During my meal planning this week the Cooking Light from March 2009 made its way into my hands and after some looking I found this recipe which reminds me a lot of a dinner my old roommate Stephanie and I used to make. The Cooking Light version was better than what we used to do, because we used to saute the bell peppers instead of roasting them. I like the roasted pepper so much more.

But this dish did bring me back and make me feel nostalgic for the days before law school, the days of minimum wage jobs, time to hang out with friends, and to really do whatever I wanted. While I’m glad to be where I am now, it’s hard not to miss those days.

I served this pasta with garlic roasted asparagus. It was a nice dinner and a nice blast to the past.

Sausage and Roasted Pepper Sausage

Ingredients
2 green bell peppers
4 oz rotini noodles (or other noodle of choice)
2 sweet Italian sausages
1 tbsp tomato paste
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
a pinch of salt
2 tbsp Parmesan cheese

Directions

1. Preheat the broiler.

2. Cut bell peppers in half lengthwise. Clean out the seeds and the membrane. Place each half on a broiler dish, skin side up. Flatten them with your hand. Broil for 10 minutes. Place the bell pepper in a ziplock bag for 15 minutes, sealed  Once the 15 minutes have passed, peel the skin off the peppers. Chop the peppers and set aside.

3. While the peppers are broiling, cook the noodles per the package directions.

4. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Remove the sausage from its casing. Add to the pan and cook until browned, stirring to crumble. Add the bell peppers to the pan. Move the sausage mixture to the sides of the pan. Add the tomato paste to the middle of the pan and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir the tomato paste into the sausage. Stir in the pasta and 1/2 cup of water and cook for 3 minutes. Season with pepper, salt, and cheese.

* serves 2
* shared with Wednesday Whatsits, Cast Party Wednesday, & Catch A Glimpse Party

One response

Leave a Reply

