Lemon-Strawberry Parfaits

IMG_8803

I try on holidays to get pictures of the entire meal. But on Easter this year I neglected that due to drinking too much and forgetting. What do I mean by drinking too much? I had half a glass of wine and a margarita. I have no tolerance. Before I had the little amount of alcohol that proved to be excessive for my body, I had made a very messy looking parfait. I figured out a strategy to get them to look nice once I was already done, so that was ineffective. But regardless, I remembered to take a picture of the parfaits because I made them in the morning.

Despite being sloppy, they tasted delicious. I’ve never made curd before and the microwave method definitely proved easy. I probably could have left a few of the lemons out, because the dish was super lemony, but it was yummy after a festive Easter dinner. I also cheated and didn’t make the pound cake from scratch, but sometimes it’s just necessary to cheat. With all the other preparations we had to do for dinner (for our lamb, for the couscous, the crab cakes, and the veggies) baking a pound cake would have made the whole process more hectic.

Lemon-Strawberry Parfaits
(source)

Ingredients
1 cup white sugar
3 eggs
1 cup fresh lemon juice
zest of 3 lemons
1/2 cup butter, melted
sliced pound cake
1 cup strawberries, sliced
1 cup heavy cream
2 tbsp sugar

Directions

1. In a microwave bowl whisk together the sugar and eggs. Then whisk in the lemon juice, lemon zest, and butter. Place in a microwave and heat for one minute on high heat. Remove and whisk. Return to microwave for another minute. Remove and whisk. Continue until the mixture sticks to the back of a spoon. This takes about 4 minutes. Press the mixture through a sieve into a bowl.

2. Using a biscuit cutter, cut the pound cake into 8 circles.

3. Beat the heavy cream with the 2 tbsp of sugar until you have whipped cream.

4. Start layering the ingredients in a cup. Start with the pound cake. On top of the pound cake layer the lemon curd. Then layer the strawberries. Then layer the whipped cream. Repeat.

* serves 4
* shared with Wednesday Whatsits, Cast Party Wednesday, & Catch A Glimpse Party

2 responses

  1. These sound so good! I love lemon-strawberry anything! in fact, I even make a lemon-strawberry marmalade that’s a big hit around here – And parfaits? Oh yeah, make those at least once a week during the summer. I will put this in the rotation!

Leave a Reply

