Blood Orange Margaritas

IMG_8815

My parents love blood oranges. In California blood oranges are in season from November to May, so it’s still prime time to get them at the market. Every Sunday morning my dad heads to the farmer’s market and stocks up on produce for their household (I do the same, but I don’t buy as much fruit as he does.) On Easter Sunday he got some blood oranges that we used for this wonderful cocktail.

So the reason I actually found this recipe to begin with was because I watched Practical Magic for this month’s Food ‘n Flix. Practical Magic is the story of Sally and Gillian, who are witches. And on top of this, they are cursed. What could be worse than being a cursed witch that everyone snubs? I’m not sure. It sounds pretty awful.

One night, Sally, Gillian, and their aunts indulge on margaritas. While their cocktails were more traditional, I was so intrigued by the red of the oranges in this recipe. It seems bewitching, it seems magical, and it seemed to fit the feel of the movie well . . . The Owens sisters were different. This margarita is different.

I’m not going to take claim where it’s not due though. I didn’t make this recipe up for one, it comes from smitten kitchen. And secondly… My brother actually ended up mixing the drink. I was going to, but I was busy frying up crab cakes which we had with our Easter dinner. So thanks Ben! You can be a witch too!

Blood Orange Margaritas

Ingredients
1/2 cup blood orange juice
3 tbsp lime juice
3 tbsp triple sec
7 tbsp tequila (we used the cheap stuff, you can be as classy or not as you like)

1. Mix together. Pour in glasses over ice.

* makes 2 drinks
* Besides Food ‘n Flix, I’m sharing this recipe with Full Plate Thursday, Catch A Glimpse Party, & Showcase Your Talent Thursday

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Food -n- Flix Round-Up: Practical Magic~ | Can't Believe We Ate...

Leave a Reply

