Sweet and Salty Popcorn Cookies

IMG_8920

 

This month for Pantry Party our theme is cookies. I’d love to see more people enter recipes, by the way. This month, I opened my cabinet and grabbed out the first thing I saw and decided I’d make cookies with the first thing I grabbed. The first thing I grabbed was a bag of unpopped popcorn kernels. We don’t have a microwave, so a bag of kernels is the easiest way for us to get popcorn. Pour it in a pan, put it over heat, let it do it’s thing. But put a lid on the pan . . . or else there will be popcorn popped all over the kitchen.

Anyway – I pulled out the popcorn and began searching for the perfect popcorn cookie recipe. I guess I could have just been creative and made a chocolate chip cookie and threw popcorn in it, but I decided to copy Katrina’s recipe instead.

These cookies were super easy and really fun. I mean, popcorn in cookies. Can you really say no to it?

smaller

Sweet and Salty Popcorn Cookies
(source)

Ingredients
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
2 cups popped popcorn, coarsely chopped

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. In a bowl of a stand mixer, combine the butter and sugars. Beat until fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and beat together with the butter and sugar.

3. In a large bowl sift the flour, baking soda, and salt together. Beat into the wet mixture until combined.

4. Using a wooden spoon fold the popcorn into the dough.

5. On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, spoon teaspoons of the dough on the sheet, an inch apart.

6. Bake for 15 minutes. Allow to cool before eating.

* makes about a dozen cookies
* Besides Pantry Party, this recipe is shared with Weekend Cooking

 

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Pantry Party April Round Up | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

