Carbonnade Flamande

IMG_9012

 

This dish was made for my ‘journey’ to Belgium. Carbonnade flamande is a stew chocked with flavor, with onions and beef. Google translates tells me that carbonnade flamande means: beef stewed in beer seasoned with garlic and served with boiled potatoes. I wish I had looked at google before making this, because it would have gone great with potatoes. Instead I just enjoyed the stew on its own.

The use of mustard in the broth was unlike anything I’ve made before. I loved how thick the broth was. It’s the perfect bar examination prep food.

Carbonnade Flamande
(source)

Inredients
3 lbs chuck roast, cut into 1-inch pieces
salt and pepper, to taste
4 tbsp unsalted butter
3 medium onions, sliced
3 tbsp all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups beef broth
1 1/2 cups Belgian beer
4 sprigs fresh thyme
2 bay leaves
1 tbsp whole grain mustard
1 tbsp brown sugar

Directions

1. Pat the beef dry and season with salt and pepper. In a heavy pot over medium-high melt 2 tbsp of the butter. Add the beef and brown, 3 minutes per side. Remove the beef from the pot and set aside.

2. Add the remaining butter to the pot. Reduce heat to medium. Add the onions and season with salt. Cook until the onions are browned, about 15 minutes. Add the flour and stir until the onions are coated with the flour. Cook for about 2 minutes. Stir in the broth, scraping the bottom of the pan to get loosen the browned bits. Stir in the beer, thyme, bay leaves, and the beef.

3. Increase the heat to medium-high. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and allow to simmer, covered, for 2 hours. Stir occasionally. A half hour before serving stir in the mustard and brown sugar. When time to serve, remove the thyme sprigs and bay leaves.

* serves 6
* this recipe is shared with Tasteful Tuesday & Tempt My Tummy

2 responses

  1. This is one of my favourite dishes for warming me up or just for a bit of comfort and I can confirm that it works really well with boiled potatoes. Your version looks delicious. I can’t guarantee that it helps with exam prep but I’m really hoping it does. By the way, no two Belgians (at least the ones I’ve met) seem to agree the exact type of beer that you should use.

  2. yum! That looks good! Although I’m not sure I can get Belgium beer here in Hong Kong :o) Thanks for linking up to Tasteful Tuesdays and for the link back :o) Can’t wait to see what you bring next week. Emily @ Nap-Time Creations
    oh, and I just posted an amazing round-up from last weeks party… stop on over and check it out!

Leave a Reply

