Peri Peri Chicken Breast

IMG_9028

The most recent county my kitchen has visited in Portugal. I was first introduced to this chicken dish on myfitnesspal’s message board. Someone has posted a picture of their peri peri chicken and I was intrigued. I decided to google it and find a recipe. Upon googling I learned that peri peri chicken is a Portuguese chicken dish.

From my small amount of research, peri peri made it to Portugual through the influence of North African cuisine. Peri peri is a marinade that can be put on chicken or shrimp. Peri peri is also the name of thebird’s eye chili, the star of the show of this marinade. It’s packed with spices and delicious. Most of the recipes for peri peri I saw barbecued the chicken, but being a woman of ease and simplicity, I baked it instead. This may obviously take away some of the traditional aspect of the dish, but what’s a girl to do! I don’t want to have to light up a grill when I’m trying to study!

I served it alongside broccoli, red bell pepper, and corn. Next time I have this dish I think I’ll just roast up some corn on the cob. The corn tasted absolutely delicious next to this chicken.

In non-food related news, I am now dreaming of torts. And I don’t mean mean tortes, which would be exponentially more fun to dream about. This bar prep stuff is killer.

Peri Peri Chicken Breast
(source)

Ingredients
4 tbsp olive oil
4-10 bird’s eye chili
4 cloves garlic
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tbsp paprika
1 bay leaf
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Directions

1. In a food processor pulse together  the olive oil, chilies, garlic, lemon juice, paprika, bay leaf, oregano, salt, and pepper. Blend until smooth.

2. Pour half of the sauce over the chicken.  Brush the marinade over the chicken so it’s even. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.

3. Preheat oven to 425. Place the chicken on a baking sheet covered with aluminum foil. Bake for 15 minutes. Flip the chicken over and baste with the the remaining marinade. Bake for 10 more minutes.

* serves 4
* shared with Mix It Up Monday

4 responses

  1. Hi – Iove your Piri Piri recipe. I’ve just uploaded mine at:

    We went through many recipes to get the right mix between tangy, flavoursome and spicy. We hope you like it.

    T

Leave a Reply

