Sweet and Sour Balti Chicken

IMG_9150I haven’t shared an actual recipe in awhile! In a month things should be different, but I’m expecting this next month to be pretty sparse in terms of updates from me.

This recipe comes from my favorite cookbook, or one of my favorite cookbooks . . . Best Ever Indian Cookbook. I got this at Border’s back when the greatest bookstore on earth was still in existence. You know, I haven’t found a bookstore I like since Border’s went defunct. I liked the organization a lot. But, anyway, I got this book for $9.99 off the clearance table there. Everything in the book, I’ve enjoyed.

I was skeptical about this dish, because while I’ve had Chinese sweet and sour chicken, what on earth is sweet and sour Indian chicken? I don’t even know if this is a thing, but this sauce was a combination of mango chutney which I got at Trader Joe’s, tomato paste, garlic, and plain yogurt. I mean, is this even a thing? Whether or not anyone has ever heard of this before, you should try it, because it’s really good. I served it with some cauliflower which I spiced with cumin and turmeric and basmati rice.

Sweet and Sour Balti Chicken

Ingredients
3 tbsp tomato paste
2 tbsp plain Greek yogurt
1 1/2 tsp garam masala
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp crushed crush
2 tbsp mango chutney (either store bought or homemade)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp white sugar
4 tbsp vegetable oil
1 1/2 lb chicken breast, cubed
2/3 cup water
2 jalapenos, minced
2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
2 tbsp heavy cream

Directions

1. Mix the tomato paste, yogurt, garam masala, chili powder, garlic, mango chutney, salt, and sugar in a small bowl. Mix well.

2. Heat the oil in a skillet. Once hot, lower the heat and add the yogurt mixture. Bring to a boil and cook for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Add the chicken pieces into the sauce and stir until they are well coated.

4. Stir in the water. Continue cooking for 6 minutes, until the chicken is fully cooked.

5. Add the jalapeno, cilantro, and heavy cream. Cook for 2 more minutes over low heat.

* serves 4
* shared with Wednesday Whatsits & Cast Party Wednesday

 

One response

  1. Lovely work! Would you be happy to link it in to the current Food on Friday which is all about sauces? This is the link . I do hope to see you there. There are already quite a lot of links for you to check out. Cheers

Leave a Reply

