Fried Tilapia with Lemon Sauce

IMG_9263

 

I’ve been trying to make this fish dish for a few days, but thins kept getting in the way. There just kept being a reason I couldn’t cook or didn’t want to cook.  But I needed to make this dish for this month’s Pantry Party: FISH!

I decided to use the container of bread crumbs I had stuffed in the back of my cabinet to make a fried fish dish. Though I initially had followed a recipe, the dish evolved into its own creation when I actually realized I didn’t have the right ingredients to follow the recipe.

My changes though were great, This is a dish I’d cook again.

pantry

Fried Tilapia with Lemon Sauce

Ingredients
2 tilapia fillets, cut in half
3/4 cup beer
1/2 cup flour
2 tsp cornstarch, divided
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, divided
3/4 cup breadcrumbs
1 1/2 tbsp sesame seeds
1 tbsp water
1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
2 1/2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame oil
1/2 tbsp rice vinegar
vegetable oil for frying

Ingredients

1. In a shallow dish combine the beer, flour, 1/2 tbsp cornstarch, salt, garlic powder, and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. ix together until you create a batter. In another shallow dish, spread with breadcrumbs.

2. Dip the fish in the batter. Once coated, dip in the breadcrumbs. Set fish aside.

3. In a cast iron skillet heat vegetable oil until hot. Add the fish and cook 4 minutes per side.

4. Remove and set on a wire rack.

5. In a small pot whisk together 1 tbsp water and the remaining cornstarch. Add the lemon, honey, soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, and the remaining cayenne pepper. Whisk together. Put on low heat until it begins to thicken.

6. Spoon the sauce over the fish.

* serves 2
* Though made for Pantry Party, I’m sharing this dish with Mix It Up Monday

One response

  1. Pingback: Pantry Party September Round Up | lawstudentscookbook

Leave a Reply

