Double Chocolate Dream Cookies

photo

Cookie season has arrived! December is always my favorite time of year. It’s my birthday. It’s Christmas. I get candy. I get cookies. I don’t like how cold it’s been, but life can be a compromise sometime.

I participated in Christmas Cookie Recipe Swap hosted by White Lights on Wednesday, {i love} my disorganized life, and Real Housemoms. The swap changed a bit from last year, but was just as fun. Last year we mailed our partners a handwritten copy of our recipe. This year it was all done electronically. While receiving snail mail is fun, it was a lot easier to receive the recipe via my computer rather than twiddling my thumbs until the mailman decided to drop it off.

Last year for the swap I made Pink Peppermint Chip Cookies. This year I also received a recipe for “chip” cookies – but for a very different cookie: chocolate chocolate chip – oh yeah!

This year Amy from My Little-One Room Schoolhouse is my partner. So, let’s thank her for the recipe!

I love chocolate chips and I love chocolate cookies, so this is seriously the combination of two wonderful things. I did have some problems though. I have two cookie sheets. One is thicker than the other. The cookies that baked on my thin sheet just went . . . flat. 😦 The cookies that were baked on the thicker sheet fluffed up more and were definitely better. I’m sure it had to do with how the heat was reacting to the cookies, but this is the first time I’ve noticed such a visible difference between my baking sheets.

And with that, cookie season has begun! Let’s see what cookies this season brings.

XMAS Cookie Recipe Swap

Double Chocolate Dream Cookies

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

1. Mix flour, cocoa, soda and salt together.  Set aside.

2. In another bowl, cream butter and sugars together.  Add eggs and vanilla.

3. Add dry ingredients and mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips.

4. Drop spoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 for 8 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet and cool completely.  Do not overbake.  Center may appear not to be done, but will set as cookies cool.

Because I don’t own my own domain and WordPress for some reason hates linkys, please click here to see all the other cookies shared!

2 responses

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the cookies, but sorry some went flat. I’ve never had them do that, so I wonder what makes that cookie sheet so different? I guess keep them on the thicker one from no on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

