Ginger Cookies

photo (1)

 

After my last post with the chocolate cookies, I realized Christmas is 12 days away. As I said in the last post, cookie season has begun. To celebrate, I’m celebrating the 12 Days of Cookies.

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me . . . ginger cookies!

I hope I actually keep up on this 12 days of cookies. I do sort of have a trial scheduled for next Wednesday which could entirely throw a wrench into this plan, but we shall see if the trial even goes forward. Half of me hope it does, the other half hopes it doesn’t. And the reason I hope it doesn’t has nothing to do with nerves, I swear.

But if there’s a trial my 12 days of cookies might turn into 10 days of cookies or something – but we shall see. The life of a lawyer? Haha. It’s weird to say that.

Anyway, these cookies were delightful. Or rather, they are delightful. Trust me, I haven’t eaten all 32 I got out of the dough {yet.}

Ginger Cookies
(from here)

Ingredients
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
1/4 tsp salt
2 1/4 all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup sugar

Directions

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the sugar and the butter. Then add the egg and molasses and mix together, until well combined.

2. In another bowl, mix together the salt, flour, baking soda, ground cloves, ground ginger, and ground cinnamon. Once mixed, pour the dry mixture slowly into the butter mixture, stirring until well combined.

3. Cover the bowl and put it in the refrigerator for a few hours. Watch a Christmas movie.

4. Roll the dough into 1 inch balls. Roll them in the 1/2 cup of sugar. Place the cookie dough balls on a greased baking sheet.  Gently press them down with the palm of your hand.

5. Bake for 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Allow to cool and remove from the baking sheet.

* makes about 32 cookies
* shared with #FoodieFriday & Foodie Friday

2 responses

Leave a Reply

