Steamed Buns

IMG_9446

The best way to put this, is that this was a huge experiment. It wasn’t exactly successful, but the end result was edible and flavorful.

Maybe I should have taken them out of these silly cupcake wrappers to photograph. Maybe I shouldn’t have snapped the picture quickly before chowing all these buns down. But I won’t live my life with too many maybes. 🙂

This month’s movie for Food ‘n Flix was a movie I watched all the time in college, Kung Fu Panda hosted by girlichef. Why did I watch it a lot? I don’t know. I also watched Happy Feet a lot. My college movie tastes were more along the line of a 5-year old’s.

I shouldn’t have let my boyfriend have a say in the dish, because if it had been entirely up to me I would have made an Asian dish with peaches in it for the Peach Tree of Heavenly Wisdom.

20101111134645!PeachTree

I didn’t do that though. Instead I made steamed buns that lacked the appropriate shape and were shoved into cupcake wrappers. Next time I’m making the calls without input from the peanut gallery.

FoodnFlix

Steamed Buns
(source)

FOR THE DOUGH
500 gram all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp instant yeast
1/4 cup lukewarm water
1 cup milk
1 tsp baking powder
50 gram sugar
3 gram salt
2 tbsp vegetable oil

FOR THE STUFFING
1 1/2 lb ground beef (which you probably shouldn’t use like I did, because it’s greasy, use pork or turkey)
1/2 cup spinach, shredded
1 tbsp salt
5 green onions, diced
2 inch ginger, diced
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tsp Chinese 5-spice
1 tsp sesame oil
2 tsp ground pepper

Directions

1. Combine the yeast with the lukewarm water to activate. Allow to sit for 5 minutes.

2. In the bowl of a bread mixer, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Attach the dough hook. Turn it on and slowly add the activated yeast and the milk. Then slowly add the vegetable oil.

3. Knead with the bread hook for 15 minutes. It should form a smooth, soft, non-sticky ball of dough. Add liquid or flour if the texture of the dough is too sticky or too dry.

4. Cover the bowl with plastic. Place somewhere warm and let the dough rest for an hour. The dough should double in size. Turn on the mixer again, allowing the dough to be kneaded for 5 more minutes.

5. While the dough is rising, prepare the filling. Mix 1 tbsp of salt with the spinach. Let sit for 20 minutes.

6. After 20 minutes, press any liquid out of the spinach. Add the remaining filling ingredients to the bowl and mix together with your hands. Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.

7. Once the dough has risen, place it on a floured surface. Divide the dough into four portions and roll each portion into a log about 1 1/2 inches in diameter.

8. Cut each log into 6 pieces. Shape each piece into a ball. Press the ball flat in your hand. Using a rolling pin, roll each piece into a round flat circle, about 4 inches in diameter.

9. Place 1 tbsp of the filling in each piece. Wrap the bun by folding the edge counterclockwise until the bun is completely sealed.

10. Place the buns in a steamer on parchment paper (or uh, cupcake wrappers.) Cover and let sit for 45 minutes.

11. Steam the buns for 15 minutes over high heat. Turn off the heat and keep the buns covered for 5 minutes before removing from the steamer.

* makes about 24 buns

5 responses

  1. With all those filling ingredients I bet these were delicious. Chinese steamed buns are something I’ve been wanting to make for a long time so well done for having a go at them.

  2. Peanut gallery! Bahahahaha! I applaud your fortitude. I would not have taken this on. (I made a simple noodle soup.). I bet these were more than edible.

  3. I admire your courage in taking on steamed buns (I am far too lazy for that!) and I am sure they tasted great. I actually like the little ‘frill’ of cupcake wrappers in the photo though! 😉

Leave a Reply

