Strawberry Ice Cream

Strawberry Ice CreamSince I moved to the land of no ice cream parlors, I’ve been making an ice cream a week. Starting from the White Chocolate Lemon, I’ve also made Salted Caramel as well as Grape Nut ice creams. It’s fun trying so many different types and techniques for making ice creams.

It couldn’t have come at a better time that the Random Recipes challenge this month involved ice cream. Dom has introduced me to a new challenge as well, one I’ll need to participate in, Bloggers Scream For Ice Cream. So not only was Random Recipes on point with ice cream, I now also have a dedicated ice cream round up I can participate in! SCORE!

I pulled out all my cookbooks that I knew had ice cream or other frozen desserts in them. Random.org chose Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream & Dessert Book for me. I couldn’t have asked for a better selection.

9780894803123

This cookbook has never done me wrong with ice cream. There’s three ice cream bases at the beginning of the book. The rest of the recipes basically just alter the base, adding whatever ingredients to make a delicious ice cream (with recipes such as Vanilla Fudge Chunk, Banana Peanut Butter, and both Ben’s Chocolate and Jerry’s Chocolate.) The first of the bases is my favorite and the one I used in the ice cream I randomly selected. It does use raw eggs though, so it’s not something everyone would be into.

When I randomly opened the book I happened upon page 54, Strawberry. While not the most exciting of the ice cream flavors in this book, it did create a creamy, fruity, and delicious ice cream!

bsficrr

Strawberry Ice Cream

Ingredients

BASE
2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups heavy cream
1 cup milk

FLAVORING
1 pint fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced
1/3 cup sugar
juice from 1/2 a lemon

Directions

1. Combine the strawberries, sugar for the filling, and lemon juice together in a mixing bowl. Cover and place in the refrigerator for an hour.

2. Whisk the eggs together in a mixing bowl for 2 minutes or until light and fluffy. Whisk in the sugar until blended. Pour in the cream and milk and whisk to blend.

3. Mash the strawberries into a puree and fold into the cream base.

4. Transfer the mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze per manufacturer’s instructions.

* makes about a quart of ice cream
* I’m also sharing this ice cream with Full Plate Thursday

4 responses

  1. Love the fresh fruit strawberry ice cream, looks so much more appealing than artificial pink gloop doesn’t it? And a great book to pick. Welcome to BSFIC, thanks to Dom for introducing us!

  2. Pingback: August’s BSFIC-meets-Random Recipes Round Up » Kavey Eats

Leave a Reply

