These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

Both food and non-food related, there are some things I have fallen in love with this year. Some are things I have loved before while some are new. As we get closer to Christmas, I decided it’s time to share the things I love this year!

Nutella! I have loved Nutella since I was introduced to it in college. Actually, I first learned of Nutella back in elementary school, but I don’t think I liked it for whatever reason. Maybe it was because my friend used to eat it on white bread and I thought that was weird – I don’t know. Frankly, it isn’t any weirder than eating it off a spoon, which I do catch myself doing sometime…. Shh! Anyway, Nutella is a delicious hazelenut spread that can be enjoyed in many ways – I particularly like it on pretzels. But it’s also a great food to bake with! Be looking for my upcoming Pumpkin Cookies Stuffed with Nutella!

Colorful socks! There’s not a particular brand that I’m crazy about or even a particular pattern, but I love colorful and fun socks that come up to my knee or mid-calf. I go through stages. Last year I loved plain black socks. But lately, I don’t wear socks very much. I don’t wear them to work, because I’m wearing dress shoes. I pretty much just wear them around the house. But if you’re wearing socks at home to keep your feet warm, they better look adorable!

 

Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette! I’ve never been huge into makeup. But when I had to start interviewing and had to look less like a 15 year old and more like an attorney, I started learning to wear makeup. That’s funny – most high school kids play with makeup. I never was into it. And I’m still not huge into it. I love my face. I love my freckles and my imperfections. But at the same time, to look more put together for court I’ve had to learn some makeup techniques. I bought the Naked3 palette and it matches my tone perfectly. The shadows all have pink undertones and can be used to create both daytime and nighttime looks. It’s pricey though, but great quality. I actually bought mine on ebay discounted because the box was damaged.

Kettle Brand Chips – Sea Salt and Vinegar! I love sea salt and vinegar flavored potato chips. I love Kettle Brand chips also. So, the combination of the two is perfect. I probably eat these at lunch far more than I should. But I love the sour taste of the vinegar with the saltiness of the salt. A perfect addition to a sandwich!

 

EOS Lip Balm! I first learned of EOS through another blog, but I can’t remember which one. I was so fascinated by the shape of the chapstick – a ball instead of a tube. I bought it because I thought it was cute. After I bought it though, I realized how perfect this chapstick design is. The ball is designed NOT to roll of your desk! So if it gets knocked at work, it’s not on the floor. On top of that, the flavors I’ve used are wonderful and it’s a great balm that doesn’t need to be reapplied constantly.

Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast-Iron Skillet! My favorite kitchen tool of the year is the Lodge cast iron skillet. My mom got this for me a few years ago for Christmas and it has continued to be one of the most loved and most used things in my kitchen. I really want to replace all my pots and pans with cast iron. I love that stuff doesn’t stick to them! And the clean up of cast iron is wonderfully easy. I also have a cast iron wok, but this skillet still is my most used!

 

In other news – stay tuned for more cookie recipes!

weekend cooking

7 responses

    • I’ll have to check that brand out! I was reintroduced to my love of socks when I ordered a wantables intimates box this year. It sends you panties and whatnots. Of everything in the box, some socks were my favorite!

  1. I’ve just recently realized I like Nutella and hazelnuts. I think after my daughter visited France where they were all crazy about Nutella and had Nutella food stands, etc. We have a cast iron skillet that I’ve kept well seasoned over the years too, and am attached to! Just found out we’re not supposed to use cast iron on our glass or ceramic stovetop (not sure which we have!) but we’ve done it for years, so can’t stop now! Still miss our old gas stove from years gone by…

Leave a Reply

