Wiener Schnitzel

IMG_9640

I’ve been the worst about updating lately. But if anything can draw me back in, it’s Food ‘n Flix. It helps that I was hosting this month, it gave me incentive to think about it early. It may still have taken me ALL month to make the dish, but at least I finally did it.

I expect to participate in next month’s movie too – you all better hold me to it.

This month’s movie, that yours truly hosted, was Lady and the Tramp! I haven’t seen this movie in forever, so I had forgotten how much actual food references there are besides the spaghetti and meatballs. We all know that scene. And frankly, I was expecting that I was going to make spaghetti and meatballs. But then I watched the movie . . . and I didn’t. Because Tramp mentioned wiener schnitzel and my heart couldn’t say no.

Tramp tells Lady about all the food he gets from around the neighborhood. The Schultzes feed him wiener schnitzel on Mondays, The O’Briens give him corned beef on Tuesdays. Doggy sure eats well!

Now to add some sadness to my post.

Lady-and-the-Tramp-disneys-lady-and-the-tramp-9960732-720-480

I would have made dog treats.

As I was watching this movie that kept jumping into my head: I SHOULD MAKE MOZART DOG TREATS!
Mozart, my 11 year old beagle died in January after a several month battle with bladder cancer. He was my first ‘real’ pet, if you exclude the finches, the goldfish, and the hamsters we had. He was the first pet not in a cage that could cuddle with me in bed. He was such a good dog and a good friend and it’s weird in a world where there is no Mozart the beagle.

47167_10100526598683878_679350931_n

Had Mozart not died, I would have made him dog treats and tried to find a way to tie them into the spaghetti and meatballs of the movie.

Alas, there is no dog to make treats for anymore. And my cats don’t really eat treats (though it would have been fun to pick up on the Siamese cats from the movie!)

In the end, I made wiener schnitzel. There used to be a wonderful wiener schnitzel restaurant in San Francisco that I loved to go to (called Schnitzel Haus.) At one point the ownership changed and wasn’t quite as good – I’m not sure if the place even still exists now. I love wiener schnitzel. I could eat it all day every day for the rest of my life. If I had to pick a last meal, it would be wiener schnitzel.

And Mozart would eat anything off my plate, so he definitely had his share of wiener schnitzel!

Wiener Schnitzel
(source)

Ingredients
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 large eggs, beaten
juice from one lemon
1 tbsp heavy cream
1 cup bread crumbs
4 pork cutlets
1 cup vegetable oil for frying
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

1. In one shallow pan, fill it with the flour. In another shallow pan, mix together lemon juice, eggs, and heavy cream. In a final shallow pan, fill with the bread crumbs.

2. Season the pork with salt and pepper on both sides. Using tongs, dredge the pork in the flour. Then dunk the pork in the egg mixture. Let the mixture drip off. Finally, cover with the bread crumbs. Place on a sheet covered in parchment paper for 15 minutes to let dry out.

3. In a cast iron skillet heat up your oil. To see if your oil is hot enough, drip some water in it. If it sizzles, you’re ready to go! Place your pork in the oil and cook for 2-3 minutes per side. Once it’s cooked on both sides, remove to a plate covered in paper towels to let the grease soak off.

* serves 4

FoodnFlix

9 responses

  1. So sorry. People without that special pet connection really can’t understand the grief when a pet dies. My sincere condolences and what a tough post for you this month. Thanks for hosting (under the circumstances, I might have bailed.)

  2. I am so sorry for your loss, I understand as I’ve lost a couple of beloved pets (aka family members). This is a great post to honor the memory of Mozart, though. And I love your choice of wienerschnitzel. Thank you for being our host this month, I imagine this pick pulled at your heartstrings the whole way through.

  3. Pingback: Food ‘n Flix: Lady and the Tramp Roundup | lawstudentscookbook

  4. Loosing a pet is the worst. I’m glad you were still able to find the courage to do this one. It looks amazing. I’ve never had schnitzel, but I’m adding this one to my recipe book. (Kimberly at Coffee and Casseroles)

  5. I’m sorry about your dog — that is always a tough one. I’m glad you shared a photo of Mozart. I’ve never had schnitzel either, but it looks like something we would definitely enjoy.

  6. I am so sorry about your loss Elizabeth. Mozart is such a gorgeous boy. This must have been a hard film to host so thank you for the wonderful hosting job and great pick. Your wiener schnitzel is perfect for the film.

Leave a Reply

