Brown Sugar Doughnut Batter Waffles

IMG_9710

I woke up this morning craving doughnuts. But since we moved, it’s about a 20 minute drive to the closest doughnut shop. Yes, I live in the absolute middle of no where. No doughnut shop!

So I got online and googled “doughnut recipe.” I then saw The Kitchen Magpie’s post for Mini Doughnut Waffles and my mouth started to water. How could I pass up a combination of two of my favorite breakfast foods? I just couldn’t. And because I had (nearly) all the ingredients called for in the recipe, I rolled out of bed, pulled out the stuff, and had at it in my kitchen.

I replaced the white sugar for brown sugar. And then I noted down on my shopping list I need more white sugar.

simplyeggcellent_logo1I was also hoping I’d be able to find a roundup to submit my version of these doughnut waffles to. Bealleau Kitchen used to be the host of Random Recipes, which I participated in all the time. After many months of successful roundups, Dom retired the roundup. He started a new one though, Simply Eggcellent. I’ve been meaning to join along, but my blogging had tapered off. So this is my first submission to his new roundup! July’s Simply Eggcellent focused on breakfasts. Though I had something else planned to submit, who knows if I’ll actually get around to making it.

What’s exciting about eggs in the kitchen, is they get hidden in so many different foods. You can scramble them, fry them, or do something where they’re obvious, or they can be the binding element in your batter!

BreakfastClub_badge0230

Also, I learned about this other roundup called Breakfast Club. Breakfast Club is hosted by Made With Pink and Maison Cupcake. These yummy waffle/doughnuts will be shared there too!

I made far too many for the two of this morning, so the rest will be frozen so Matt can throw them in the oven to warm up while I’m out of town.

Brown Sugar Doughnut Batter Waffles
(original source)

Ingredients
For The Batter:
1 cup brown sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 eggs
1/4 cup melted butter
1 cup skim milk
3 cups all-purpose flour

For The Topping:
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup melted butter

Directions

1. In a large bowl mix together the sugar, baking powder, salt, and pumpkin spice. Add the eggs, melted butter, and milk and stir to the sugar mixture.

2. Slowly stir in the flour. Mix the flour into the sugar mixture with a wooden spoon, until there are no dry spots of flour left.

3. Warm up your waffle maker and spray with cooking spray.

4. Once warm, place the batter in the middle of each waffle space. The dough will be sticky and thick. It will not spread out like a traditional waffle. My batter was spooned into the waffle maker in portions of about one heaping tablespoon each.

5. Cook for about 3 minutes, or per your waffle maker’s instructions, until the waffles are golden brown.

6. Let the waffles cool.

7. Stir together the sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Dip each waffle in the melted butter and then the sugar-cinnamon mix. Let set for about 5 minutes.

* this made about 12 waffles
* this recipe is also shared with Small Victories Sunday

3 responses

  1. oh wow!… a combo of my two favourite things, doughnuts and waffles. I want these now. End of the day but I want them! I need waffles. Waffles are good! Need them! an amazing link for Simply Eggcellent. Thanks for your kind words about Random Recipes and glad you could join in with the new one!

Leave a Reply

