Chocolate Orange Hot Chocolate

IMG_9992

I love winter time almost exclusively for hot chocolate. Every mug of hot chocolate when it’s cold outside feel so justified. Living here in the desert, it didn’t get cold until rather recently. Usually I’m drinking hot chocolate much before Christmas. But with the warm weather outside, I didn’t even want hot chocolate! How awful! All I wanted to drink was water!

Alas, the cold weather has come and done some havoc on the house like freezing my pipes. Before we talk any more about hot chocolate, I have to tell you that this winter hates me. First my pipes froze (and luckily thawed without bursting) and THEN my power went out and left me without any heat! The power going out wasn’t actually weather related and was just old wiring related, but having these back to back disasters when it’s cold out isn’t fun!

What is fun is cuddling up with a good book and a cup of hot chocolate.

IMG_9993

When I was at the grocery store today I saw something I have never seen before: McCormick’s Valencia Orange Peel. Something inspired me to pull it off the shelf. And then something else inspired me to put the boxed hot chocolate aside and make a delicious cup of orange hot chocolate.

What else should I do with the orange peel? It’s really finely grated and tastes delicious.

This month’s We Should Cocoa is all about simplicity. Lisa at Lovely Appetite is hosting this month. This might be the simplest chocolate recipe of all!

We_Should_Cocoa_V3

Chocolate Orange Hot Chocolate

Ingredients
2 cups skim milk
1 oz bittersweet chocolate chips
3 oz milk chocolate chips
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp vanilla extract
1/4-1/2 tsp McCormick’s Valencia orange peel
whipped cream

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan heat the milk, Valencia orange peel, ground cinnamon, and vanilla extract.
  2. When the milk just begins to simmer, add the chocolate. Whisk continuously until all the chocolate has melted.
  3. Pour into mugs and top with whipped cream.
5 responses

  1. Hi Elizabeth! I have never seen the valencia orange peel in the store before but you can bet I’m going to be looking for it next time I go! What a great way to spice up a traditional cocoa drink.

  2. Mmmm valancia orange peel! How luxurious does that sound! They do say sometimes the simplest things are the best 😉 This recipe for hot chocolate looks great. Thanks for entering we should cocoa x

  3. Lovely to have you joining in with #WeShouldCocoa again, but sorry to hear about your house troubles. Your hot chocolate has got to go a long way in alleviating the cold though – it sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

