Gingersnaps

IMG_9210

 

My first real post back is cookies. I think that’s  the best welcome back to the world of blogging post, don’t you think? Especially since these cookies fit perfectly into the themes of two blogger round-ups this month, I’m back!

I had some store bought gingersnaps in my cabinet. They actually hurt to eat. They were just way too gingery. I tried and ended up with this massively puckered face. So instead of suffer through those super-ginger cookies, I decided to make a batch of my own. These taste how I think gingersnaps are supposed to. They’re gingery, but they’re edible.  These nice crisp cookies were super easy to make! (And now they’re all gone!)

This month, Alphabakes’s letter is G! Alphabakes is a monthly food challenge hosted by Ros and Caroline.

AlphaBakes Logo

The other food challenge this month is The Feel Good Challenge. This month’s theme is ginger. While cookies may not be the most healthy of things I could be eating, a gingersnap is considerably less calories than the chocolate chip cookie I could be chowing down. 😀

IMG_2503

 

Gingersnaps
(source)

Ingredients
3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar, divided
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In the bowl of your electric mixer combine the butter, brown sugar, and 1/2 cup white sugar.  Beat for 3 minutes, until light and fluffy. Add the molasses, egg, and vanilla into the bowl. Beat until incorporated.

3. In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves.  Add to the butter mixture and mix until well combined.  Cover the dough and let chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

4. Place the remaining 1/2 cup of white sugar in a shallow dish.

5. Roll the cookie dough into 1-inch balls.  Roll in the sugar to coat. Place on the the baking sheet and flatten with the bottom of a glass. Leave 2 inches between the cookies. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the cookies feel dry and firm on the top.

* makes about 4 dozen cookies
* Besides Alphabakes and Feel Good Challenge, this recipe is shared with Weekend Cooking

 

7 responses

  1. Ginger is one of all-time favorite flavors. In fact, I made a ginger-peach crisp this week. I’m bookmarking this page for a future baking adventure (when the summer fruits disappear). Oh and thanks for the heads-up on the two challenges. I’ll check them out. One of these days I’ll have time to participate in more food challenges.

  2. Totally better than a cookie! And we’re not calorie counting over at Feel Good Food, anything with ginger in it is good for the digestion, and that makes gingersnaps alright by me! Put the kettle on 😉 Thanks for linking up

Leave a comment