Egg In A Nest

Moonstruck Eggs

 

This month at Food n’ Flix we watched the movie Moonstruck, hosted by Eliot’s Eats. Starring Cher, this movie is about a woman who has a dilemma. Does she marry the best friend of her late husband or the best friend’s brother?

This classic movie is not brimming with food references, though there’s enough to work with! Olympia Dukakis’s character, Rose Castorini, makes Cher (aka Loretta Castorini) this egg dish in the movie. This dish, which has so many different names depending on who you ask (egg in a nest, egg in a basket, amongst others,) brings me back to college . . .

Back in college, one of my housemates, Josie watched Rachael Ray all the time. In fact, Rachael Ray was on so much many things she said became running inside jokes in our house. One morning I came downstairs and saw Josie watching Rachael and Rachael was talking all about Birds in a Nest. We were totally put off by the name of the recipes (birds in a nest, really? That sounds gross.)  But after watching Rachael cook that egg inside the bread, we were both in love.

Birds in a nest became a big part of our breakfasts in college. They were easy and yummy. Whenever I make them now, all I think about is the good old days of when I started to cook for myself.

moonstruckb

When the birds in a nest came on scene, I knew that was what I had to make. Rose serves the egg/toast combination with a side of red bell peppers. I don’t like red bell peppers very much, so I used tomatoes instead with some salt sprinkled on them and sauteed some. Delicious!

Egg In A Nest

Ingredients
1 piece of sourdough bread
1 egg
1 tbsp unsalted butter
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

1. Using a round cookie cutter, cut a hole in the bread.

2. Put a skillet over medium-high heat and add the butter, allowing it to melt.

3. Place the bread in the skillet. Crack the egg into the hole in the bread.

4. Cook for about 2 minutes per side. Be careful when you flip the egg – you don’t want yolk everywhere!

FoodnFlix

* Besides Food ‘n Flix, I’m sharing this recipe with Mix It Up Monday

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Food ‘n Flix Round-Up: Moonstruck « Eliot's Eats

Leave a comment