Roasted Eggplant Pasta

 

I’ve said it before on here: I’m not part of the eggplant lovers club. Frankly, I’d be shocked if there even was such a club just because I really don’t think it’s a good food. While it’s not my favorite food, I do try to cook with it and find ways that work – because I know I shouldn’t be so picky. This was one preparation of eggplant that I really enjoyed. In the past I’ve made a few others:

Eggplant Bharta with Peas
– Lamb Moussaka
Rice with Eggplant

Mainly it’s a texture thing. If I get the eggplant a texture I like, I definitely enjoy it a lot more. Sometimes I just think it feels like a soggy sponge in my mouth.

Anyway – not to turn you off from this dish, the eggplant was not the texture I so despite! Roasting the eggplant definitely transformed the texture into something palatable.

This was a very easy pasta dish with a lot of flavor. I brought it for lunch to work, popped it in the microwave, and it was delicious.

Roasted Eggplant Pasta

Ingredients
1 small eggplant, peeled and cubed
cooking spray
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tomato, chopped
1 tbsp tomato paste
1/4 tsp sugar
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
2 1/2 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
2 cups cooked pasta of choice (I used Spinach Spaghetti Noodles which were excellent!)
2 tbsp parmesan cheese

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. Place the eggplant in a single layer on a baking sheet an coat with cooking spray. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, stirring halfway through.

3. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook 3 minutes, until golden. Add the tomato, tomato paste, sugar, and ground pepper and bring to a simmer. Reduce the heat to low and cook for 3 minutes. Add eggplant and basil. Cook 3 minutes.

4. Toss the sauce with the pasta and sprinkle with cheese.

* serves 2* Shared with Presto Pasta hosted by Simona of Bricole, Mealtime Monday, The Bulletin Board, & Mix it Up Monday

5 responses

  1. I actually love eggplant, but I agree with you that sometimes the texture makes it hard to like. Roasting it is a way of making it appealing. And it goes so well with tomatoes. Thank you so much for contributing to Presto Pasta Nights.

Leave a Reply

